Trading With Rayner and Rayner Teo

Rayner Teo: Another phony Forex Trader?
  • Honesty
    (2)
  • Quality
    (1)
  • Cost
    (1)
  • Support
    (1)
  • Verified Trades
    (1)
  • User Experience
    (1)
1.2

Summary

Rayner Teo is a popular YouTuber with nearly 190,000 followers. He purports to be a “professional Forex and Futures trader” and wants to teach you his “secrets.”

These supposed secrets are nothing more than debunked and nearly useless indicators like MACD and Stochastics. In fact, he claims to know nearly countless “secrets” and he can “teach you to be a full-time professional trader.” Simply pay the monthly fee to become a member of his “secret inner circle” of newbies, wannabes, and financial illiterate.

Rayner Teo tailors his pitch with a smooth and disarming demeanor. Gently cooing into the microphone how he wants to be your friend, and help you become rich.

Unfortunately, he appears to be a professional charlatan cranking about financial ridiculousness like a snake oil salesman at a carnival.

No verifiable proof of ever trading successfully. No verifiable proof that he even has a trading account. Attempts to verify were met with all manner of evasiveness and excuses.

Avoid this smooth hustler.

 

Pros

  • Very clean marketing
  • Folksy and relatable
  • Disarming and charming

Cons

  • Wolf in sheep’s clothing
  • Claims of success cannot be verified
  • Methods appear to be bunk
  • A smooth swindler

Thanks for reading today’s review of Trading With Rayner

What is Trading With Rayner, and who is Rayner Teo? According to the Trading With Rayner website, a person named Rayner Teo wants to teach you the “secrets” to profitable Forex and Futures trading.

There are two primary products that the consumer may choose: Pro Traders Edge Elite and Pro Traders Edge Premium.

The Pro Traders Edge Elite is a $99 per month package that includes live bi-monthly question and answer sessions, weekly trade alerts, various ‘boot camps’ and ‘trading secrets’, some sort of cheat sheets and access to a book club.

The Pro Traders Edge Premium is a $49 per month package and includes most of the features from ‘Elite.’ However, you will not be admitted into the ‘secret circle’ and these mysterious will only be revealed in the live questions and answers sessions.

According to Rayner, these ‘secret’ sessions are where you will be inducted into this secret society and interact with the investment maestro himself.

Rayner Teo: The Rambo of Singapore

According to Rayner Teo, when he turned 19, he was required to join the Singapore military and serve his country valiantly and ward off all invaders.

The military commanders, upon first seeing all 5 foot one inch of Rayner could immediately recognize this midget sized man as the next Malaysian Rambo. According to Rayner, he was immediately sent to an elite military training academy and taught all manner of fighting techniques.

Some of these included elite hand-to-hand fighting skills, counter-terrorism, hostage remediation, spoon fighting, jungle survival, and mid-flight parachute repair.

The going wasn’t easy for Rayner. After being promoted to a knight and then subsequently awarded the golden cane pole fighting award, he then began to question whether being an elite military fighter and commando was his true calling in life.

He then left the elite commando military unit and wandered the earth in search of life’s meaning. “What should I do with myself?” the 103-pound warrior pondered.

Singapore was not at war and there were no more enemies to defeat. But what should our young warrior do next? For he only knew combat and hand to hand fighting — not exactly the skills required to survive in civil society.

And then, in an epiphany, Rayner discovered the amazing world of Forex trading. He quickly began to realize that his elite commando skills were perfectly suited to the rough and tumble “no prisoners” world of Forex trading.

A short time later, he was recruited by a “prop trading Forex company” and became a professional Forex trader. According to Rayner.

And now, he wants to teach you all of his secret methods and techniques so that you can also become a full-time Forex and Futures trader.

Rayner Teo: Lots of “Secrets”

According to his self-written biography, he is “the most famous trader in Singapore.” In fact, on his YouTube channel, he has an incredible 189,000 subscribers that apparently tune in to learn a bevy of “trading secrets.”

Some of these trading secrets include the following:

  • The secrets of MACD indicators
  • The secrets of moving averages
  • The secrets of stochastics
  • The secrets of candle bars
  • The secrets of price action
  • The secrets of Bollinger bands
  • The most secret trading indicator of all time
  • The secrets of the Golden Cross
  • The secrets of the average true range
  • The secrets of support and resistance
  • The secrets to false breakouts

I can literally go on for hours. Apparently, Rayner Teo knows the secrets to anything and everything related to trading. All of these secrets are revealed as he hand selects a chart and overlays an indicator which magically fits the chart like a thong fits a bikini model. (If only it were that easy)

He then opines on how these seemingly useless indicators reveal the magical key to unlock limitless amounts of wealth, prosperity, and unlimited shrimp cocktail.

Amidst this nearly endless stream of indicator ridiculousness is the deafening quiet of when these worthless indicators make the wrong prediction. Apparently, this is not that important.

Most of the indicators that Rayner gleefully reveals as “secret” indicators have been around for 50 years and have consistently been debunked as statistically insignificant. Don’t believe me? Read Professor David Aronson’s book:

In this book, Professor Aronson systematically exposes every single indicator that Rayner Teo proffers as somehow “secretive” and “the answer to your questions.”

Sorry folks, technical analysis indicators are not predictive. In fact, as Professor Aronson states in his 500-page tomb, “these sorts of investment techniques are the realm of wizards, con artists, fairies and unicorns.”

Does Rayner Teo Even Trade?

Of course, there are some folks that use these sorts of magical techniques to profit. This is undeniable.

And if Rayner Teo can actually verify trading success with actual account statements, then I would be the first to give him a 5-star review.

With this in mind, TradingSchools.Org reached out to Rayner Teo in hopes of verifying his supposed “commando trading techniques” during the month of June 2019.

Over the course of 3 weeks, we went back and forth with Rayner and his “virtual assistant” located in the Philipines. We went back an forth, around and around, up and down with Rayner. We simply wanted to know whether he had undeniable proof, that we could verify, that shows an actual track record.

Unfortunately, it appears that Rayner Teo does not even have a trading account. Instead, the best he could proffer was a series of videos (made in hindsight) where he analyses different markets. This is supposed to be “proof” and we must simply trust him.

It appears that our supposed Malaysian Rambo is little more than a Youtube con artist too lazy to get a real job. Instead, he spends his days creating useless videos that have little to no value, other than enriching Rayner.

Wrapping Things Up

Another day and yet another YouTube conman gets exposed as a charlatan.

There is nothing wrong with using “technical analysis.” However, it must be within the context of actual backtesting.

This backtesting must then be traded live and “forward tested” to authenticate the pattern is valid. There simply is no other way.

The key to success for Rayner Teo is that he is very much down to earth. Very friendly, jovial, and he is entertaining within the context of a YouTube video. However, there are millions of entertaining characters on YouTube in which to waste my time.

Getting financial advice from a kid with no track record on YouTube is about the dumbest thing a person can do. I would recommend avoiding Rayner Teo.

Thanks for reading.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

59 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Ba Looch
Ba Looch (@guest_5061671)
1 month ago

Emmett, I think you’re projecting. You’re one star review reflects on you as a person. You’re a one-star person based on your character. LOL!

Ba Looch
Ba Looch (@guest_5061667)
1 month ago

Fake site and fake review. Shame on the author of this review coz it’s full of lies, clearly you’re jealous of Rayner to having spent energy to write this fake review. Most likely you’re not a successful trader. Rayner Teo has helped many newbie (like me) to novice traders. People are not easily fooled. So if he says what is written here, do you think he’ll reach 1 million subscribers? Don’t think so…

Nadina S
Nadina S (@guest_5061676)
1 month ago
Reply to  Ba Looch

I am getting tired of replying to nonsense but I thought I’d give Stray a break. He answered last time some shill wrote something stupid.

Thousands maybe millions who read Emmett’s website know exactly what he does for us and appreciate him more than you can ever destroy. This is a revolution. You can blab all you want but you can’t stop it. And the guy you are shiling for should take his money while he can. He won’t get any from anyone who came here before pressing the pay button.

dtchurn
dtchurn (@guest_5061682)
1 month ago
Reply to  Nadina S

I hear you Nadina. I think part of the new surge in shills could be the general upsurge interest in retail trading again since the gamestop boondogle , where it was reported several millions of newcomers or returning got interested in the markets and are looking to try to learn to daytrade instead of just gambling with reddit wallstreetbets moon-picks. So the shamshows, probably anticipating being predatory on all these newb retail trader fresh lambs of recent months, some of them the old scams reviewed here, are probably ramping up their marketing budget and hiring and activating their prevaricating shills more recently, some posting here trying to do some late damage control, which they think may help because 1) Tradingschools is still disorganized where many old comments are on back pages, and the shamshows know it. I’ve suggested main content table index pages before, where every review and scam is listed with the rating , but also number of comments noted with it. 2) As usual the sham cesspool industry can always count on new fresh newbs every month to attempt to “monthly churn” for “business” income, (instead of trading their way out of a paper bag to attempt to pay next months’ rent instead of selling sham and regurgitated crap instead of actually trading for a living themselves which they can’t). 3) Still way too much distraction away from the solid reviewing of tradingschools on the web. It’s great that some reviews now show up on top picks of google search, but plenty of the web media is still maniuplated to the shamshow industry’s favor, so it still needs some luck for a fresh newb to stumble onto tradingschools and learn the harsh , often past hidden truth of this shamshow snakeoil traducation industry cesspool. So too many can still get churned early by these scams before they wind up hearing about tradingschools, unfortunately. And those that do may only see the top pages of review commens where the shills have newly put their latest shilled fibs and sowing any seed of doubt, any excuse for any benefit of the doubt about the review and their exposure to ultimately fool the newb to waste their money on some trading scam product , subs or fees, (even worse wasting a lot of time with trading tip fakery “taught”, or suffering severe trading losses with garbage methods bought into) which is their goal of course.

As for Rayner, his video he prepared some days after the initial review where he couldn’t show Emmett proof during the initial questioning, was such a laughable display of shammy and shoddy looking template text forms he or his stooge coder cooked up, perhaps even on a mocked up local net server. Even if it was tied to his partner broker, that’s the point, a partner broker he’s financially involved with a partner stake isn’t a vote of confidence, and some brokers can be dubious, such as Lightspeed with Warrior these days.

Last edited 1 month ago by dtchurn
Nadina S
Nadina S (@guest_5061683)
1 month ago
Reply to  dtchurn

True. Some of the old content that was informative has been deleted which is a shame. But I guess it is coping with all that size and wealth of information. When you have a revolution on your hands it is not easy.

I think tradingschools is actually quite easy to find on google search connected with the scammer’s name IF you believe such a thing is possible. Otherwise you may not even try. First time I stumbled upon tradingschools site in 2015 (in the height of Global Trade Room fever) I nearly never clicked on it. I remember seeing it on google search (of GTR) and thinking: no I wont. I wont click on it, it’s just another bastard praising the scam and trying to sell it and get commission. I’ll only raise my blood pressure.

Wouldn’t the scammers love if I never clicked on it. Hahahaha . . .

Last edited 1 month ago by Nadina S
MR GLENN YOUR FRIEND
MR GLENN YOUR FRIEND (@guest_5060932)
4 months ago

Great Feedback about this Video Hipster

I guess he makes money from these Videos & Ebooks

& does not have to Risk any Dough Trading.

I Listened to a few , but found them plain curve fitted

as he alrdy new what the market was going to do

Rayner : PLEASE MAKE MANY VIDEOS OF

LIVE TRADES, & SHOW THE OUTCOME

& MOST IMPORTANT, SHOW

THE PF ON AT LEAST 50 TRADES,

100 EVEN BETTER , THAT IS

GROSS PROFIT [LESS] GROSS LOSS

MONEY TALKS , BULL HIP WALKS !

HAVE A GREAT DAY

dtchurn
dtchurn (@guest_5060938)
4 months ago

yeah, Rayner’s still a yt channel shamshow “guru”. Part of the youtube businesses of running a channel with so many ad-filled videos, except google/yt have not yet moderated or still ignore the chicanery of these traducation shamshow scams and ads. (maybe they will learn or realize a bit since RagingBull is now being exposed by the authorities) The only “good” thing about Rayner is that he regurgitates a lot of trading ideas from other old shams and from books and puts many out there for the noob to freely peruse, curve-fitting as his examples are. So it’s a better “deal” than paying some of those old past regurgitators like Dwacter Barry-clothespin-nose Burns and his “intro” courses, or not needing today’s Toni Turner, Aziz, and the like,’s regurgitated intro books.

Last edited 4 months ago by dtchurn
dtchum
dtchum (@guest_5060939)
4 months ago
Reply to  dtchurn

OK, gollum name stealer dtchurn — we get you do not work for Rayner. Who do you work for? A few of us keep a list of who you bash and which shamshows you do not. Soon enough you will be exposed.

shailendra
shailendra (@guest_5059980)
4 months ago

rayner rock

(5)

he is a wonderful mentor , i gives star to rayner

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Dave
Dave (@guest_5057160)
6 months ago

Where is your proof that Raynor is a 5 foot 1 inch midget?? Provide your proof and I will consider this site legit. If not then absolutely a fake site with a fake owner/moderator.

Dave
Dave (@guest_5057178)
6 months ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Just an excuse of a response. Where is your proof? You are just deliberately making this stuff up and that is disturbing. Just a warning on sites like this that try to scam people. Just terrible human beings out there.

Morning Star
Morning Star (@guest_6062036)
6 days ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Wow…u really actually Talk Shits. Not just 1 shit but Many Shits.

daniel
daniel (@guest_5056928)
7 months ago

I still somehow agree on the statement given by this article. The main point is whether Rayner is able to provide a 5 year trading record for verification showing that he trades profitably. Period. Simple.

Unfortunately, this review has stated that he cant provide the proof and i dont see either in his videos. No trading record proven. Thus, he cannot show he is a profitable trader.

Again, the backstory and secrets mentioned are educational info. Yes, i agree that it will be beneficial for trading to some extent, especially he broke down those trading techniques to a simpler format.

In other words, Rayner has shown what are the techniques to trade, surveying and providing
possible method to trade, etc. But has he shown a 5 year record? No, i mean a real trading record, showing the trades taken. I saw there is a rebuttal video, but no, he show a few months trading record. Practically not solid enough.

This review is badly written in the sense that you dont really need to provide his backstory , hinting sarcastically, but this do not defer from the point where Rayner does not able to successfully show that he trades profitably for a long period.

Good coach? Yes
Profitable trader? No

Ba Looch
Ba Looch (@guest_5061668)
1 month ago
Reply to  daniel

Why don’t you watch

and see how profitable he is. I’m interested to see Emmett Moore’s p/l statement. I don’t think he/she is as profitable as Rayner.

Guest
Guest (@guest_5056724)
8 months ago

Watch this:

Edward Butte
Edward Butte (@guest_5056558)
9 months ago

Bottom Line do not listen to this review he is biased and the fact that he thinks that the MACD is a completely useless indicator proves he is either a bad investor or simply ignorant. The techniques Yeo teaches are just factual known Technical Analysis. These are techniques that I was taught as a stock broker along my 25 years in the business. So these are not “scams” they are simply known facts. Depending on how you apply them they can work or not work…but this is the case for EVERY discipline in investing! If you want to learn check out Yeo on his youtube channel and I can confirm as a stockbroker and CFP Certified Financial Planner that what he is teaching is sound technical analysis. I have learned from his videos…dont listen to the review sounds like a bitter loser who lost money in the market.

Kofi
Kofi (@guest_5056284)
11 months ago

This is a bit harsh on the lad dont you think?
In a free world Rayner has a right to engage with you or not and on his terms rather than yours.I have been able to learn something from his videos and I am about to contact him as I am key gurus in order to learn.
Respect to all.
The quest of excalibur the holly grail or seeking perfection is a daunting matter. At least men can live and let live. Sharing is cool, the pros and cons above is one individual’s opinion.
Peace and Love!
“Teaching is good for the teacher”!( A. Elder).

Investor
Investor (@guest_4055929)
1 year ago

This article is hot trash. No substance. Thanks for wasting my time. Pure click bait.

Daniel Nyam
Daniel Nyam (@guest_5056185)
11 months ago
Reply to  Investor

Hi Sir, May i know are you a student of Rayner? As from your reply, you may seem to disagree of the statement above and if yes, how was your experience with Rayner?

This is just a hit piece.
This is just a hit piece. (@guest_5056474)
10 months ago
Reply to  Daniel Nyam

Rayner actually went over this specific review himself on his YT. He showed live trades, as well as old monthly statements.
Looking at reviews of Rayner on other websites seem to bring up more positive reviews.

Obviously if you don’t trust it, don’t follow it. Though looking further into Rayner, he seems legit. This article is garbage.

Dave
Dave (@guest_5057187)
6 months ago

Yeah. looks like emmet moore, this site owner or moderator is running a scam site by making up false information on other legit people. That is very disturbing and as a human being that is terrible to take advantage of other innocent people. What emmet is faking by pretending to protect people when in fact he is scamming the innocent. Sheeshh… One in every crowd…

Last White Indian
Last White Indian (@guest_4055746)
1 year ago

Raynor says 1 important thing – go and test what I am saying for yourself. The risk is yours, work out what works and what doesn’t, take the good, leave the bad – but get off your arse and prove it for yourself. Thank you Raynor.

UliB
UliB (@guest_4055642)
1 year ago

This guy teaches basic trend following, nothing new. I foolishly signed up for it. It is basic stuff you can find in any trend following book ( see for example Clenow’s book on trend following). I learned nothing new..

theone
theone (@guest_4055321)
1 year ago

whoever wrote this review is obviously a miserable troll/clown. Rayner is the man and almost all his material is free. I’ve learned a lot from him and i am truly blessed to have found him

Loe Jeh
Loe Jeh (@guest_3053569)
1 year ago

Seriously?

(1)

Emmett,

I’ve been reading your site for a long time and have always appreciated your candor in exposing the seedy underbelly (is it really an underbelly when it seems the majority are like this?) of what passes for trading education out there. Indeed it is your no nonsense approach that sets your words apart from the slick talkers that promise the world and deliver worse than nothing.
However, in this particular review you’ve gone a step too far. Yes, criticize the individual’s wild claims, inability or unwillingness to provide records, do your usual thing. That’s what makes your site so great. But in this particular case you decide to also take shots at the individual himself – something I have not seen you do to anyone else – not even the most “vile” hucksters who’d put Rayner’s alleged misdeeds to shame.
I hate to accuse you of anything more than being just plain mean, but I can’t help but think that the individual’s ethnicity played a factor in your disastrous decision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

seriously
seriously (@guest_3053585)
1 year ago
Reply to  Loe Jeh

You haven’t shill. You are of Rayner’s camp or himself. The scams always only come out of the woodwork when the review is on them. If you had really followed the site, you would know Emmett’s ribbing of Rayner is no different or worse than average. The “statement” shown in the video could have been nothing else except a sim account view on a platform or server app mockup by a good coder. The regular tradingschools’ readers are not fooled a whit by these shilled mini-review comments as the shills are always newbs to how comments work here. It’s easy to see which of them are shilled compared to the real observed comments such as from Longshot’s.

dw about it
dw about it (@guest_4055602)
1 year ago
Reply to  seriously

hoes mad

Rob
Rob (@guest_3053519)
1 year ago

sour grapes

(5)

The reviewer has admitted that he used to be a lying scumbag who scammed others so I guess if he really did a 180, then he has to be harsh: there are a lot of scammers out there. That said, discretionary trading is very personal and just because someone is very successful in trading doesn’t mean you will be if you copied them EVEN WITH VERIFIED STATEMENTS. All our personalities and risk tolerances are different. Lagging indicators like MACD applied in a vacuum are not going to make you money, but that is the folly of the newbie trader. These old tools CAN be used to make money consistently if you make them your own and find your niche. Just because you couldn’t make money using them doesn’t mean someone else can’t. And just because someone else can doesn’t mean you can duplicate their success. I think at the very least Rayner has a lot of useful wisdom to impart and it’s provided for free. There is a lot of redeeming value coming from his site and videos

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

jordan
jordan (@guest_3053463)
1 year ago

One of the best free youtube video sets I have ever came across!

(5)

Hey guys, if anyone wants a perspective of someone who has been watching Rayner’s videos for a while now, I have only one thing to say. I have never seen someone so honest spend so much time teaching us things for free when other places charge. I can promise you that you will benefit more from his free videos than probably most paid training courses on the market. And i’m not kidding. I am in the process of watching all 83 of his free youtube videos. I’m about half way done and I am beyond impressed! So of course this is just my own personal review, if you want to find out for yourself, just start out at video one like I did and continue through each one. Man oh man this guy is awesome and we are so lucky to have him!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Phil
Phil (@guest_3052997)
1 year ago

Mr Moore
I’m becoming increasingly disappointed with this consumer website.
I don’t see you reply to any of the positive messeges on Raynor. I don’t see you reply to the youtube video that has been posted by two readers, were Rayner defends himself against your review.
I, as I’m sure many readers of this site, have read many, many reviews on here and I’ve noticed, on many occasions, that you rewrite reviews after you obtain new information. What’s stopping you from doing this?
Kind regards

Dave
Dave (@guest_5057188)
6 months ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Yeah… tradingschools.org is a scam. Taking advantage of the innocent. Here is the video:

jon
jon (@guest_5061357)
2 months ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

but from the quick look I have had through your site you don’t “do” positive reviews?

why would you slam someone so much for providing FREE content? (maybe he has paid content to that im not aware of?)

jon
jon (@guest_5061358)
2 months ago
Reply to  jon

And just to follow up, why would he provide his personal account details to some guy claiming to own a site that just seems to give crap reviews to traders? get real

Ba Looch
Ba Looch (@guest_5061670)
1 month ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Awwww….would you look at that. I think you’re Charlatan!

Ba Looch
Ba Looch (@guest_5061669)
1 month ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Emmett, here’s your chance to listen to Rayner’s response to your fake review

and make corrections because you’re truly a dishonest person. Shame on you!

Longshot
Longshot (@guest_3053506)
1 year ago
Reply to  Phil

I have no problem with Rayner personally, but there’s zero evidence that his trading strategies are profitable. In fact, I can go ahead and tell you that classic lagging indicators and trend-following aren’t consistently profitable in today’s markets. Of course they “work” sometimes, so it’s easy to make videos and “educate” people.

If you really want to watch his free videos, that’s fine. But I wouldn’t pay a dime until he produces a 3rd party verified track record with long-term results.

59
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x