Follow Me Trades

Follow Me Trades
  • Honesty
  • Quality
  • Cost
  • Support
  • Verified Trades
  • User Experience

Summary

Dean Jenkins of Follow Me Trades is the real deal. The track record is real, the trading signals are simple and easy to follow, the service transparent.

This is not a day trading service. Average trades last 4-6 weeks in length, and are primarily trend following. Lots to like. A very nice, and very genuine person is running this business.

4.8
Pros: Verified track record. The person running the business is very humble, genuine, and a very good stock picker. Trades are easy to follow.
Cons: A bit expensive at $99 per month. Uses some technical concepts like Fibonacci and Elliot Wave, that in my opinion are of little value.

Thanks for today’s review of Follow Me Trades

What is Follow Me Trades? The business is a stock picking, and trading educational service. The business is owned by Dean Jenkins, operating out of Olympia, Washington.

Follow Me Trades operates a website located at www.followmetrades.com. In addition to the website, a social media profile/Facebook page can be found at the here.

Follow Me Trades offers several products:

  • $7 trial period for stock picks
  • $97 per month for the stock picking service
  • $497 “Master Trader” program
  • $497 “Options Basics” program
  • $139 “Ichimoku Cloud” module

The stock picking service comes with a 10-day money back guarantee with no questions asked.

The business was launched August 2015.

Performance Claims

TradingSchools.Org began receiving requests to review Follow Me Trades as early as February 2016. In total, TradingSchools.Org received 10 requests to review the service.

During the month of August 2016, I reached out to Dean Jenkins and requested confirmation of the supposed profit and losses. The website claimed healthy returns on the stock picking service.

  • 2013 a return of 57%
  • 2014 a return of 37%
  • 2015 a return of 28%

The above returns represent a beginning account balance of $100,000. Each trade of the service represents 2% of the current account balance. Obviously, these sorts of returns seem almost too good to be true. And so my next step was to start actively following the service.

From August 2016 through October 2016, TradingSchools.Org began tracking the results.

For the recorded period, everything appeared to be accurate, easy to track, and easy to record. The trades are sent out via email and website update, the night before the market opens. The entry price has a clear stop-order entry price, a stop-order loss, and a profit target. Very simple. And very easy to execute.

In addition to the daily update, the service also includes a Wednesday evening, screen sharing update with Dean. He goes over each of the trades, the winners and the losers, and gives an update on where he feels the market is going. Truth be told, I found the Weds evening update pretty boring. He talks about Fibonacci, Ichimoku clouds, areas of support and resistance etc. If I could condense his approach, and remove the technical jargon, it would be that Dean Jenkins is a trend trader. He goes with the trend. I am not a big proponent of Fibonacci and Ichimoku, and feel that most of this sort of stuff is just carnival show mumbo jumbo. In my opinion, the ‘secret sauce’ is quite simply…trend following.

A closer analysis of the performance record, which included over 125 trades, revealed that the trades are an even mix of long and short. If the trades were all long trades (ie buy and hold) then I would be suspicious of the track record. Why? Because the stock market, since 2008, has only gone higher. A monkey wearing a costume, randomly throwing darts at stock picks can make money in a bull market. However, the outsize performance of short trades, during a bull market indicates a high level of skill. It is fair to say that Dean’s record at shorting is very good.

Some readers might be tempted to conclude that 125 listed trades is quite low. However, I would counter this argument by reviewing the average hold time of the trades. Each trade lasts 4-6 weeks.

Verifying Performance

During the month of November 2016, I once again reached out to Dean Jenkins. What I really wanted to know…is he actually trading? It is one thing to simply recommend trades, but it’s quite another to actually pull the trigger with real money. On the Follow Me Trades website, he claims that he is trading with a live trading account. And so my next step was to obtain actual account statements and review the trades for authenticity.

To my surprise, reviewing the account statement was not a problem. As a matter of fact, with a screen share, we logged into his TradeStation Brokerage account and began randomly reviewing trades. The trades on the official track record matched the brokerage statement. However, he does make some trades “off the record” that is not included in the advisory. My goal was to ignore anything and everything that was not part of the service. I can confirm he is actually trading with a live trading account, and the amount is significant.

One of the things I really liked

With stock picking services, one of the problems that I often hear from subscribers is “how many shares should I trade?” For instance, one person might have a $200k account while another might have $2k. How many shares should each person trade? Dean created a very handy, risk management calculator for subscribers that answers this question. Example…Dean recommends a maximum position size of no more than 2% of the account balance. The following is a screen capture of what the calculator looks like, for a person trading with a $10k account.

Follow Me Trades

As you can see the instructions are very clear and include

  • # of Shares to Buy
  • Cost of Shares
  • Potential Profit at Target
  • Amount at Risk
  • Reward/Risk Ratio

It is very simple and very easy to understand.

About Dean Jenkins

One of the first things that you will notice on the Follow Me Trades website is a big picture of Dean Jenkins. He is holding a highlight pen and looking really authoritative. In my opinion, he looks like an asshole. A mean, grumpy asshole. The sort of guy that doesn’t answer his door on Halloween. Have a look…

Dean Jenkins

However, when I called Dean on the telephone, it was not was I was expecting. He is very warm. Very down to earth. Patient and kind hearted. And very open to all of my probing questions…and my questions are meant as 100% ‘gotcha’ questions. In my experience, 99% of the guys selling trading products are guilty of various levels of chicanery. But Dean flowed through my intense questions with no delay or shady stumbles. Truth be told, my telephone conversations hardly ever go very well, but I was really surprised at his level of openness, hospitality, and lack of ego.

Once I got past my FBI level of questioning regarding performance disclosure and verification, I next ventured into the back history of Dean Jenkins. I was once again pleasantly surprised. Prior to starting the advisory, Dean spent over 20 years working at NEC and then Intel Corp (MBA University of Washington). He was plainly honest in describing how his career at Intel, and the long time investments in Intel allowed him to stop worrying about money in 2006.

After leaving Intel in 2006, he decided that he wanted to go into the Ministry. He next earned an MA in Pastoral Ministry from Northwest Nazarene University and subsequently founded a church. I know that many of you are probably scratching your heads and wondering “this sounds too good to be true”. Well it’s true. I confirmed it. The church is named Real Life Communities Church, and a Facebook page can be found here. Yes, it is an actual Church, a non-profit that focuses on helping the local community.

What is funny is that I had to practically pull teeth getting Dean to talk about his Church. I have profiled many scammers and hustlers that talk about Jesus and trading profits, looking to fleece the flock, preaching the prosperity gospel. But you will not find this with Dean. He is very quiet about his ministry. Its very interesting, and very refreshing. I guess what I am trying to say, this guy is actually really nice. And the following is picture more accurately reflects his personality…

follow me trades dean jenkins

Ok, so now that I have spent a bit of time talking about what I do like about Dean Jenkins. Let me take a moment to talk about what I don’t like…list sharing. I am on his email list. And there are several other affiliate promoters on the internet that are promoting Dean Jenkins. And they have lumped him into various promotional efforts, with several other “trading guru’s” that are of negative value. So if you receive a marketing email that includes Dean and a few other random turds selling something, try and ignore the turds.

Affiliate Marketing and Promotional Efforts

I want to be 100% upfront and honest with my readers…I signed up for an affiliate relationship with Dean Jenkins. Certainly, some readers are going to frown on me, and this is going to taint my positive review. But I would like to remind the audience that over the past 2+ years of writing these reviews, I have only agreed to market 3 vendors. Nearly 99.9% of vendors get poor reviews, and I earn nothing from poor reviews. So if you decide that Dean Jenkins is of value, then I appreciate letting him know that you read this review. And it factored into your decision making.

The only way this blog can cover expenses and the multitudes of legal hassles are to forge relationships with vendors that have something actually worth purchasing.

Also, I want the audience to know that I have not purchased the Master Trader, Options Basics, or Ichimoku Cloud course. So I can offer no opinion on its value. My focus and scope has been primarily pointed towards verifying that the performance is real. Once we have a baseline of verified performance, then we can judge whether the concepts are valid.

Wrapping Things Up

Thanks for reading. Don’t forget to leave a comment below. If you have subscribed to Dean in the past, would certainly appreciate your opinion below. Well that’s it for today. Once again, thank you for reading and commenting.

Comments (217)

  1. Stray Dog November 21, 2016
    • Stray Dog November 21, 2016
      • David November 21, 2016
        • Stray Dog November 22, 2016
          • David November 23, 2016
          • jim November 30, 2016
  2. Amit November 21, 2016
  3. dtchurn November 21, 2016
    • George November 22, 2016
      • mike November 22, 2016
        • mike November 22, 2016
          • Lucky77 November 22, 2016
            • Stray Dog November 22, 2016
              • Lucky77 November 22, 2016
                • Rob B November 22, 2016
                • Lucky77 November 22, 2016
                • Stray Dog November 22, 2016
              • Cyn November 22, 2016
          • dtchurn November 23, 2016
            • John Long Gone November 23, 2016
  4. Ron R. November 21, 2016
  5. Jack Kelleher November 21, 2016
  6. John Baudrexl November 21, 2016
  7. James November 21, 2016
    • Rob B November 22, 2016
  8. Joe M November 22, 2016
  9. mike November 22, 2016
    • Rob B November 22, 2016
      • mike November 22, 2016
      • dtchurn November 25, 2016
        • Stray Dog November 25, 2016
          • rtchoke November 25, 2016
        • Rob B November 25, 2016
  10. Goagal November 22, 2016
  11. Goagal November 23, 2016
    • Rob B November 23, 2016
    • Stray Dog November 24, 2016
      • dtchurn November 25, 2016
        • Stray Dog November 25, 2016
  12. Dr. Bob Sebald November 23, 2016
  13. David Grier Jr November 24, 2016
  14. Sam Watson November 24, 2016
    • Cyn November 24, 2016
    • Stray Dog November 24, 2016
      • Lucky77 November 25, 2016
        • Rob B November 25, 2016
        • Winter Is Coming November 25, 2016
          • Rob B November 25, 2016
            • Cyn November 25, 2016
              • Rob B November 25, 2016
                • Cyn November 25, 2016
                • David Adams November 29, 2016
                • Lucky7 November 29, 2016
                • David Adams November 29, 2016
                • Cyn November 29, 2016
                • David Adams November 29, 2016
                • Cyn November 30, 2016
                • David Adams December 5, 2016
                • Rob B December 5, 2016
                • Cyn December 5, 2016
                • David Adams December 5, 2016
                • Cyn December 5, 2016
                • Cyn December 5, 2016
                • David Adams December 5, 2016
                • Pete December 5, 2016
                • Lucky77 December 5, 2016
                • kenneth December 6, 2016
                • Cyn December 6, 2016
                • Stray Dog December 5, 2016
                • Lucky77 December 5, 2016
                • Lucky7 December 1, 2016
                • Pete December 1, 2016
                • Cyn December 1, 2016
                • Pete December 1, 2016
                • David Adams December 2, 2016
                • Cyn December 3, 2016
                • Lucky77 December 3, 2016
                • David Adams December 5, 2016
                • David Adams December 2, 2016
                • Trader X December 4, 2016
                • Pete December 4, 2016
                • Stray Dog November 30, 2016
                • kenneth November 30, 2016
                • Trader X December 1, 2016
                • David Adams December 3, 2016
                • Lucky77 December 3, 2016
                • Stray Dog December 3, 2016
                • Ken S December 3, 2016
          • dtchurn November 26, 2016
  15. Simmy November 26, 2016
    • Lucas November 26, 2016
      • Stray Dog November 27, 2016
        • Lucas November 27, 2016
          • Stray Dog November 27, 2016
          • Rob B November 27, 2016
      • Simmy November 27, 2016
        • PETE November 27, 2016
        • Rob B November 27, 2016
        • Stray Dog November 27, 2016
  16. Lucas November 27, 2016
    • Pete November 27, 2016
      • Fara November 27, 2016
        • Pete November 27, 2016
        • Lucas November 27, 2016
      • Lucas November 27, 2016
  17. Jonny November 29, 2016
  18. kenneth November 30, 2016
    • Stray Dog November 30, 2016
      • Rob B November 30, 2016
        • dtchurn December 2, 2016
          • Pete December 2, 2016
            • dtchurn December 2, 2016
              • Pete December 2, 2016
              • Pete December 2, 2016
                • dtchurn December 3, 2016
                • dtchurn December 3, 2016
  19. Rob B December 1, 2016
    • Pete December 1, 2016
      • Rob B December 2, 2016
    • dtchurn December 2, 2016
      • Pete December 2, 2016
        • Pete December 2, 2016
    • Cyn December 2, 2016
      • Rob B December 2, 2016
        • Cyn December 2, 2016
          • Rob B December 2, 2016
            • rtchoke December 2, 2016
              • Cyn December 2, 2016
                • rtchoke December 2, 2016
                • Cyn December 2, 2016
                • Cyn December 2, 2016
                • rtchoke December 2, 2016
                • rtchoke December 2, 2016
                • Cyn December 2, 2016
                • Cyn December 2, 2016
                • rtchoke December 2, 2016
                • dtchurn December 2, 2016
            • Farah December 2, 2016
              • Rob B December 2, 2016
                • Farah December 2, 2016
              • Rob B December 2, 2016
                • Farah December 2, 2016
                • Rob B December 2, 2016
                • kenneth December 3, 2016
                • Rob B December 3, 2016
                • dtchurn December 3, 2016
                • Rob B December 3, 2016
                • Pete December 3, 2016
                • Emily December 22, 2016
                • Rob B December 22, 2016
          • Pete December 2, 2016
        • dtchurn December 3, 2016
        • Leela December 30, 2016
          • Emmett Moore December 31, 2016
            • kenneth January 1, 2017
              • Leela January 1, 2017
          • dtchurn December 31, 2016
  20. Barry December 3, 2016
    • Rob B December 3, 2016
    • Pete December 3, 2016
    • Stray Dog December 3, 2016
      • Rob B December 4, 2016
        • Pete December 4, 2016
          • Sam Watson December 4, 2016
        • Trader X December 4, 2016
          • Rob B December 4, 2016
            • Goagal December 4, 2016
              • Rob B December 4, 2016
                • Goagal December 5, 2016
              • Sam Watson December 4, 2016
                • Goagal December 5, 2016
                • Sam Watson December 5, 2016
                • Rob B December 5, 2016
          • Rob B December 4, 2016
          • Cyn December 4, 2016
            • rtchoke December 4, 2016
          • Stray Dog December 4, 2016
        • Goagal December 4, 2016
          • Pete December 4, 2016
          • Rob B December 4, 2016
      • Sam Watson December 4, 2016
        • Stray Dog December 4, 2016
      • Stray Dog December 11, 2016
        • Rob B December 11, 2016
          • Stray Dog December 11, 2016
            • rtchoke December 12, 2016
        • Goagal December 17, 2016
  21. Goagal December 4, 2016
    • Rob B December 4, 2016
      • Goagal December 4, 2016
        • Stray Dog December 4, 2016
          • Goagal December 5, 2016
            • Stray Dog December 5, 2016
              • Goagal December 5, 2016
                • Stray Dog December 5, 2016
                • Goagal December 6, 2016
                • Rob B December 6, 2016
                • Stray Dog December 6, 2016
  22. Dean Jenkins December 6, 2016
  23. Chris December 19, 2016
    • Rob B December 19, 2016
    • Goagal December 19, 2016
    • Stray Dog December 19, 2016
    • dtchurn December 20, 2016
      • Fara December 20, 2016
        • Stray Dog December 20, 2016
        • Rob B December 21, 2016
          • Gideon December 22, 2016
            • Rob B December 30, 2016
          • Stray Dog December 22, 2016
            • Cyn December 22, 2016
          • Charles Butts December 30, 2016
  24. Hmm December 29, 2016
    • Stray Dog December 29, 2016
  25. Charles Butts December 30, 2016
    • Emmett Moore December 30, 2016

Leave a Reply