Toni Turner

Toni Turner
  • Honesty
    (4)
  • Quality
    (2.5)
  • Cost
    (1.5)
  • Support
    (3)
  • Verified Trades
    (2)
  • User Experience
    (2)
2.5

Summary

Toni Turner is a creature of the Traders Expo and Money Show investment circus. For the past 18 years, she has appeared dozens of times.

Her bestselling book on day trading has now sold over 100k copies. Is it any good? Not really.

Is Toni Turner an honest presenter? Absolutely. She doesn’t make any bold promises of investment glory and is really measured in her marketing approach. She more relies upon charm and excellent communication skills.

Not a world class investor. But is offering the basics in an ethical manner.

An OK starting point for the “Trading For Newbies” type individual.

Thanks for reading today’s review of Toni Turner

Toni Turner is long time trading educator. According to Archive.Org, she has been selling all manner of investment advice since about 2001. Sometimes I refer to an investment educator as an old dinosaur, which I define as anyone selling investment advice for 15+ years.

But if I were to reference Toni Turner as an old dinosaur, I would surely offend every grandmother on the planet. If there is one lesson that I have learned the hard way, don’t ever offend a grandmother. And never describe a woman as old.

Regardless, Toni has been shilling books, webinars, seminars, trading indicators, advisory services, mentoring, investment hand holding, and pretty much every possible product across the entire spectrum for nearly 20 years.

According to a public record check, her base of operations is from a modest condominium located in Sarasota, Florida.

Toni Turner has no professional accreditations or investment advisor registrations with Finra, or the National Futures Association. According to national financial registry databases, Toni Turner simply does not exist.

Toni Turner: a deeper look

When writing a review about an investment educator, one of the first things I ask is “what did they do before they were an investment educator?” Did they hold a job in the investments industry? Are they licensed in any capacity? Do they have any sort of verifiable private or public track record that I can share with my audience?

After an exhaustive search of Toni Turner, pre-2001 investment guru era…it appears that Toni was simply a writer and professional marketer.

In about 2001, she just popped up, out of thin air and declared to the world that she was some sort of world-class investor.

It appears her marketing strategy is narrowly focused. She is quite simply a creature of the Traders Expo and Money Show investment seminar circus. We went back over the past 17 years of these investment circuses and it appears that Toni has been a presenter of nearly 50 of these shows! This is incredible considering that to be a speaker at one of these shows, you would need to spend between $5k and $12k per show.

I would estimate her advertising spend at these clown shows to be about $250k–which is an incredible number. With this in mind, she has to be selling a massive amount of educational products to support such a large ad spend.

What is Toni Turner selling?

A better question would be…what is Toni Turner not selling? She has a product for nearly every imaginable demographic and genre.

The list of products goes on and on and on. How to swing trade, how to day trade, how to long-term invest, how to scalp trade, how to trend trade, how to use volume, etc. All priced in the sweet spot between $100 – $500.

In addition, she is offering Tony’s Market Club: Discover How To Leverage The Secret Strategies And Expertise Of An Experienced Professional Trader To Help You Achieve The Ideal Trading Lifestyle priced at $97 per month.

Toni Turner Investment Books

Toni Turner is a busy publisher and hard working writer of investment books. Beginning in the year 2000, she published her first book: A Beginners Guide to Day Trading Online.

A Beginner's Guide To Day Trading Online

At the time she published her first book, it was really the ‘sweet spot’ for selling anything related to day trading. Many readers are probably not aware, but in the year 2000, there was a massive tech bubble that was created by day traders. When Toni’s book hit the scene, it was lightning in a bottle. According to recent promotional materials, the book has now sold well over 100k copies.

With such a smashing success, she has followed up the original book with a 2nd edition that was published in 2007.

A Beginner's Guide to Day Trading Online (2nd edition)

If an author is selling a lot of books, what should they do next? Write more books!!!

Make Money Trading: How to Build a Winning Trading Business with foreword by Toni TurnerShort-Term Trading in the New Stock MarketInvest to Win: Earn & Keep Profits in Bull & Bear Markets with the GainsMaster Approach

 

 

 

 

 

How many books does Toni Turner currently sell each month? According to Amazon Analytics Tool, which estimates the total sales volume for books sold only on Amazon, Toni Turner is currently selling roughly 500+ investment books each month.

Total gross monthly revenue for her books comes in around $6k – $7k. Excellent money, in my opinion.

Are Toni Turner books any good?

During the month of April 2018, TradingSchools.Org purchased the 2nd edition of A Beginners Guide To Daytrading Online.

What we really wanted to know is whether the book contained any groundbreaking material regarding day trading. First let me say, the book is well written. Toni is an excellent writer. The book has a nice flow and is packed with a tremendous amount of the basics.

She does a great job analogizing and creating compelling comparisons to real life events. For instance, chapter 12: Love Your Losses, They’re a Trader’s Best Friend, she weaves her story from fantastical headlines like “Seven Suicide Scenes” and “How Not to Catch a Falling Knife.”

Toni is an excellent writer. She is almost too good. As I read these wonderful tales of day trading glory, I kept wondering if she was just a clever writer that was simply writing clever sentences. Simply giving extremely generalized advice that is contained in 99% or related books? I believe so. But the difference is that she is a top-tier storyteller. She is a pro at ‘dressing up’ the mundane.

But does Toni Turner even day trade? Does she even invest at all?

Contacting Toni Turner

During the month of May 2018, TradingSchools.Org reached out to Toni Turner with a few questions. We used a pseudonym. We wanted to know if she had any sort of verifiable track record of day trading? Considering that she has sold over 100k copies of her book, she should be considered an expert.

To our surprise, she emailed us and replied, “I don’t really day trade much.” She next commented that nearly everyone that day trades will lose all of their money within the first year, and that if you break even “you are doing extremely well”.

Wow, what a surprise. I was expecting something like: “I make massive profits each month” but what I got was a brutally honest response.

She continued to describe her own investment results as someone that earns “10% – 20% annually, sometimes more and sometimes less.”

Once again, totally surprised. Usually, the educator proclaims 10,000% annual returns! Her response was entirely believable. No reason to ask for ‘proof’.

She finished off our conversation with “please remember to trade only with money you can afford to lose until you become a more experienced trader.”

As I read and reread our email exchanges, I couldn’t help but think I was receiving advice from a sage old grandma. (I did not call Toni an old grandma!)

Wrapping things up

I really tried to come up with a negative narrative for Toni Turner. Writing shitty stories about investment gurus is something I enjoy. But Toni didn’t give me much negative material to write about.

Toni is a world-class communicator. A world-class salesperson. She might have missed her calling as a politician. That’s how good she is at sounding authentic.

As far as her various investment products and services, it’s probably OK for the newbie and generalist. She certainly is not in the business of hurting anyone. Nor does she offer products and services that would lead anyone into financial peril.

Toni Turner is sort of like a McDonald’s hamburger. The ingredients are stupid simple, but she does a great job of selling the pickles, the secret sauce, the uninspiring American cheese, etc.

Toni Turner is basically selling financial fast food with a side of good ethics. You can eat it for quick nourishment, but you cannot eat it forever. It won’t lead you to the pinnacle of financial health. But its tasty enough.

Thanks for reading. And don’t forget to leave a comment.

 

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

14 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ariel
Ariel
3 months ago

I liked to read this review. Actually I bought the second edition of her book. The thing is that when I started in the trading world, I start seeing videos, read articles, read forums at a point that I felt that I had a huge puzzle with no connection between parts.
Granted, Toni’s book, now in retrospective, didn’t give me the secret sauce, but at least was a good re-starting point to connect everything and have a better big picture of everything. So I agree with the review about the honesty and the fact that for a newbie, at least for me, was useful.
Thanks.

countbar
countbar
9 months ago

It’s just amazing she and her book still gets mentioned on reddit and other places newb traders ask questions. Like she’s a “Martha Stewart” or cooking hostess of starting daytrading. Except it’s a serous financial endeavor with likely drastic accidents and consequences where it’s not just a harmless overcooked or spilled batter mix mess.

dtchurn
dtchurn
11 months ago

Lol! Emmet, you ought to read this. A portion: “My fist day trading, I made a few so-so trades and then I got impatient. I saw YECO breaking out and I chased, soon realized I chased, so I got out. -$500. Shit, I have to make that back, I don’t want my dad to see this. Got back in. Shit. -$400. So my first day trading, I lost $900. My dumbass was using market orders so that sure didn’t help. I reeled the risk back and traded more proper position size for a while, but the commissions for a round trip are $10, so taking six trades per day, I’m losing $60 at a minimum on top of my losing trades. Quickly I realized I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. What about my dad? Does HE know? One day, in the trading dungeon, I was frustrated with the experience I’d been having and just feeling lost overall. I asked him.

“So, are you consistently profitable?”

“mmm… I do alright.”

“Yea but like, are you consistently profitable over time?”

…………………….

“I do alright.”

Silence.

“Do you know any consistently profitable traders?”

“Well the one who wrote that book I gave you, Tina Turner.. umm and there’s Ross Cameron”

………………….

“So you don’t know any consistently profitable traders, personally.. People who are not trying to sell you something?”

“no.”

……………….

Holy fucking shit, what did this idiot get me into. He can’t even say it to my face and admit it.

This entire life decision, quitting my job, leaving my rental, moving from my city to back home, giving shit away, it all relied on that. I was supposed to be an apprentice to a consistently profitable day trader who trades for a living. It was so assumed, that I never even thought to ask! Why would you tell your son to quit his job for something that you yourself cannot do? Is this all a scam? Did my dad get sold a DREAM? Did I buy into some kind of ponzi scheme? How many of those winning trades he showed me did he actually take? Are there ANY consistently profitable DAY TRADERS who TRADE FOR A LIVING? Why do 90% fail? Is it because the other 10% are scamming the rest in some way? Completely lost, I just had no clue what was what. If I was going to succeed at this, if it was even possible to succeed at this, it was entirely up to me. I had to figure it out. I still remember the feeling like an overwhelming, crushing weight on me as it all sunk in. ”
lol!, and the guy’s entire entertaining story at: (https://www.reddit.com/r/Daytrading/comments/dalv7r/my_first_year_of_trading/) Maybe he ought to be helping tradingschools write these blog review articles, haha.

Longshot
Longshot
2 years ago

” I don’t really day trade much….nearly everyone that day trades will lose all of their money within the first year, and that if you break even ‘you are doing extremely well’….She continued to describe her own investment results as someone that earns ‘10% – 20% annually, sometimes more and sometimes less.'”

So she doesn’t do what her book teaches, and she’s performed about as well as buy-and-hold for the last decade. And the things she teaches (support & resistance, mindset, “set ups”) are vague/common ideas and I’m 99% sure she doesn’t give any proof of a statistical edge.

Like you said, there are far worse hucksters, but I see no reason to bother with her stuff, either.

Henry
Henry
2 years ago

To be fair to people like Toni Turner, Al Brooks, Alexander Elder, etc we should acknowledge that they are basically writers, and there is nothing wrong with anyone writing a book providing they don’t make false claims.

To take an analogy, I have a book on how to get started in metal detecting. It describes the technology, how to use it, what it detects, where to search, the law around finding treasure, how to maximize your chances of successful finds, stories of people who have found treasure, etc. It’s a serious book and I’ve learned a lot from it. It doesn’t make any ridiculous claims that finding buried treasure is easy; in fact, it makes exactly the opposite point. It’s a tough thing to do. But it can be rewarding if you persevere.

But what if the writer of this book had never found any treasure with his detector but wrote a book anyway? Would it I hold that against him and throw the book in the trash? No. Not if it was a well-written, inspiring book. One can know a lot about a subject and yet not be able to leverage that information to make money from it.

For example, I know a lot about chess. My rating places me in the top 5% of players in the country. Does that mean I can make a living playing chess? Not likely. But does that mean I have nothing useful to say to someone starting the game? Of course not. I could coach from beginner level up to serious club player. One doesn’t need to be world champion to help those players.

So I think we need to draw a very clear distinction between people who are able to write serious, informative, interesting books without making claims about riches, and the snake oil salesmen who infest the internet.

Personally, I love reading trading books. But I read them with an open mind and a critical mindset. The problem is, I think, that new or struggling traders approach them expecting a turnkey solution to their trading. But that is not what books can do. All they can do is to provide ideas for your own research. They are a springboard for deeper thinking, not a solution in themselves.

Henry
Henry
2 years ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

A book review section is a great idea. I’d love to post some reviews -both positive and negative.

Amazon reviews is a perfect example of something which started off with the noble intention of empowering end-users and ended up being hijacked by business to make more money, thus destroying the concept and ideals behind it. Now it’s largely useless; a symptom of how difficult it is to find authenticity in a world driven by appearances.

This appears to me to be part of a societal shift in attitudes from, say, my parents’ generation. Back then, people were largely what they claimed to be. Opinions and advice were generally sincerely given and meant. Sure, there have always been rogues and scams, but not on the endemic scale as today. I think this is why elderly people are so vulnerable to scams -they come from a generation where a man’s word was his bond and integrity was the norm, not the exception. Nothing epitomizes this more than the retail trading industry. Kind of depressing.

Longshot
Longshot
2 years ago
Reply to  Henry

But why read trading books unless they give you a quantifiable edge in the markets (which is much easier said than done, given all the problems with backtesting)? I can cherry pick hundreds of examples of support & resistance, indicators or chart patterns “working” and put them in a book. The hard part is giving you a trading system with black-and-white rules that beats the market over the long-term, in backtesting and real-time.

dtchurn
dtchurn
8 months ago
Reply to  Longshot

re: other post. yeah, I’d say just a shamshow like the rest of them. (Even Ross , the ‘warrior’ of dump-u key shortcuts, is writing books and expanding as the attention seeking everynewb “guru”, lol ) Maybe just more sweet and congenial about it. I did like her realistic fess up statement that most newbs lose all their money, and maybe she does insert that in her books as fair warning. But lol, I can’t take seriously where she “fessed” making 10% ‘about’ every year from “trading”, except maybe a vanguard fund account they carefully manage for her. Now I wonder about LBR (Linda Bradford Rashke) the former queen of traducation before the web era. If there is ever a review on tradingschools of her, will she get less stars than Toni, who got the same star score as Ken Clownface. LBR ‘s retail vendy material was still shammy, but at least she has a record of having been a live trader and financial professional. So while TT churns out book after book for newbs as mentioned, LBR wrote less books, but attempted to run hedge funds during the web era. So we’ll see, maybe a review someday for LBR. (yeah, she was a co-author buddy of Larry Connors way back then. And I’d mentioned I don’t take stock in Connors-RSI shamshow (spam email trying to sell his expensive trading bot rental, “the machine” after I got and tried out one of his rsi books) which I came across long before I discovered tradingschools)

Stray Dog
Stray Dog
2 years ago

” the uninspiring American cheese,” Yeah what is it with American cheese? It’s dreadful. And Pabst Beer, I made the mistake of ordering that in Hong Kong once. But on balance American products have been great for the world. Could you please ask Trump to stop giving control of the world to the Chinese please.

14
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x