The Strategy Lab

The Strategy Lab
  • Honesty
  • Quality
  • Cost
  • Support
  • Verified Trades
  • User Experience

Summary

The Strategy Lab is a $497 trading manual that includes a chat room with absolutely no live trading. The owner of the company purports to be a multi millionaire trader that has 14 consecutive years of massive profits. No losing months, ever. Claims an average of one losing day per month. When asked for proof of trading success, the person running the business becomes dodgy, evasive, and highly manipulative. A trading record that can only be described as pure, unadulterated baloney. To describe M.A. Perry as a scam artist is an understatement.

1.0
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)
Pros: Absolutely nothing to recommend.
Cons: The "100% verified track record" is complete and total nonsense. The owner of the company makes wild and outrageous claims of trading success, yet is unwilling and unable to provide even the smallest morsel of evidence. Trading room is not a trading room, rather its a waste of time with no actual trading.

Thanks for reading today’s review of TheStrategyLab.com

What is the TheStrategyLab.com? The Strategy Lab is a website that is selling a trading manual for $497. The trading manual purports to teach a volatility method of trading that is subjective and interpretive in nature. There is no defined rule set, or systematic method to the trading manual. Rather, it is an interpretation of how M. A. Perry views the market. The owner claims his method works in all markets.

The owner of the website is a person that prefers to be only known as M. A. Perry, living in Canada. This person also has a couple of other online alias names including WrbTrader and NihabaAshi. In addition to running the website, TheStrategyLab.com, this person also maintains a StockTwits page as well as a Twitter page.

In addition to selling a trading manual for $497, the person running the website also runs a free online chat room. The chat room is very rough, and it is hosted on a free, open source chat service. The chat room contains no live charts. All you will find inside of the chat room is a list of several people talking to each other. The chat room is not a signal calling chat room. There is no live trading whatsoever. Its a crude experience, and to be quite honest, I do not understand what is the purpose of the chat room. Since there is no live trading, and no possible way to track the trading of M. A. Perry, I am not even sure why it exists.

Track Record of M.A. Perry

On the TheStrategyLab.com website, you will find several years worth of trading results that Mr. Perry claims are 100% accurate, real money trades that are verifiable. You can spend several hours going from page to page adding up the results, or you can have a look at the following table that I created. The following table are reported results from January 2010 through April 2016, where Mr. Perry claims that he earned an amazing $3,520,342 in trading profits. Prior to 2010, as per Mr. Perry’s supposed track record, he claims to have earned several more million dollars in trading profits going back to 2002.

DatePerformanceDatePerformanceDatePerformance
4/1/2016$29,250.0012/1/2015$116,245.0012/1/2014$82,807.00
3/1/2016$61,300.0011/1/2015$59,780.0011/1/2014$22,170.00
2/1/2016$119,375.0010/1/2015$73,250.0010/1/2014$84,717.00
1/1/2016$163,125.009/1/2015$100,942.009/1/2014$57,380.00
8/1/2015$133,410.008/1/2014$36,715.00
7/1/2015$67,937.007/1/2014$50,460.00
6/1/2015$67,551.006/1/2014$53,430.00
5/1/2015$36,545.005/1/2014$53,673.00
4/1/2015$62,837.004/1/2014$60,925.00
3/1/2015$45,835.003/1/2014$56,657.00
2/1/2015$26,290.002/1/2014$55,370.00
1/1/2015$107,772.001/1/2014$64,590.00
$373,050.00$898,394.00$678,894.00
DatePerformanceDatePerformanceDatePerformance
12/1/2013$42,900.0012/1/2012$26,920.0012/1/2011$31,610.00
11/1/2013$43,612.0011/1/2012$37,717.0011/1/2011$43,600.00
10/1/2013$75,687.0010/1/2012$29,702.0010/1/2011$56,000.00
9/1/2013$58,700.009/1/2012$14,960.009/1/2011$63,320.00
8/1/2013$50,897.008/1/2012$20,820.008/1/2011$88,850.00
7/1/2013$55,912.007/1/2012$23,100.007/1/2011$14,090.00
6/1/2013$102,462.006/1/2012$24,000.006/1/2011$15,900.00
5/1/2013$63,550.005/1/2012$29,570.005/1/2011$19,220.00
4/1/2013$73,660.004/1/2012$22,000.004/1/2011$13,420.00
3/1/2013$30,395.003/1/2012$23,300.003/1/2011$13,370.00
2/1/2013$27,690.002/1/2012$19,920.002/1/2011$20,000.00
1/1/2013$21,950.001/1/2012$20,530.001/1/2011$18,320.00
$647,415.00$292,539.00$397,700.00
DatePerformance
12/1/2010$5,370.00
11/1/2010$10,670.00
10/1/2010$9,470.00
9/1/2010$16,130.00
8/1/2010$13,660.00
7/1/2010$20,770.00
6/1/2010$27,920.00
5/1/2010$55,650.00
4/1/2010$19,750.00
3/1/2010$15,380.00
2/1/2010$21,130.00
1/1/2010$16,450.00
$232,350.00

As you can see these results are truly amazing. In fact, a review of Mr. Perry’s daily and monthly track record reveals that he averages only ONE LOSING DAY per month. In one particular string of trading results, he went several consecutive months without even a single losing day.

In my nearly two years of writing these trading reviews, this is by far the most outrageous and outlandish reporting of trading results that I have ever witnessed. In fact, I was so impressed that I simply had to sign up for Mr. Perry’s affiliate program that pays an amazing 25% of all sales of his trading manual! In some of Mr. Perry’s promotional materials, Mr. Perry also claims that many affiliates are, “earning hundreds of dollars each month as affiliate marketers”.

In addition to being able to earn an income selling Mr. Perry’s amazing trading manual, a person also has the opportunity to be a trading coach for TheStrategyLab.com. Once a person purchases the manual, they might be given the opportunity sell the coaching program for $12,000 per person.

Certified by Dr. Dean Handley

On August 19, 2013, Mr. Perry was given an outstanding review and Dr. Dean described Mr. Perry as “Honorable”. In addition to writing a positive review, Dean also claims that he was able to record over $60,000 in trading profits, while following Mr. Perry over the course of 50 trading days.

Dr. Deans trading resultsContacting Mr. Perry

During the first week of May, I began reaching out to Mr. Perry via email and telephone calls. In the email, I expressed my amazement at his sterling track record. In particular, how impressive to see someone earning millions of dollars trading and whom was offering to sell his secret method. In particular, I asked for any sort of performance verification where I could authenticate the results and make this part of my official written review. No response.

Next, I began calling Mr. Perry over the telephone and was finally able to get him on the phone. It was not what I was expecting. Truthfully, I was expecting to speak with a highly sophisticated person. A person with such an amazing track record of earning millions of dollars in trading, and never having a losing month for the past 14 consecutive years should have some very interesting things to say. However, the conversation was very strange. M. A. Perry is a middle aged, African American male that sounded very unsophisticated. I hope this does not sound racist, or biased, but Mr. Perry struck me as a very simple man. Once again, I dont want this to sound like I have a bias against African Americans, and surely I might offend some of my readers, but Mr. Perry was articulating and conversing in a manner that some would describe as “street slang”. Once again, many readers might take offense to my description of the way the Mr. Perry talks, and I apologize for this.

Regardless of how Mr. Perry communicates, or how simple he sounded, this is of secondary importance. What is important is whether the trading track record, and the claims of millions of dollars in trading profits could be verified. Unfortunately, Mr. Perry wanted nothing to do with verifying his track record. I asked for only a single month of redacted trading statements, where his name and identity would be hidden from public view. He flat refused. I then asked for only a single day of verifiable trading results. Once again, he flat refused. I asked whom he uses as his broker, he gave the names of a couple different brokers and came across as very evasive and dodgy. I asked if he could simply take a screen shot of one single day of fills from his trading platform. Once again, he refused. Not a good sign.

Mr. Perry is very evasive when it comes to talking about his trading results. As you press this button, he quickly and cleverly switches topics and tries to bring the conversation back to his amazing trading secrets. He attempts to push the conversation back to “my happy students, and Dr. Handley”. But I just kept pushing and pushing and going back to verification of his trading results…as you can imagine, we went back and forth in this pretzel of conversation that was meant to divert my attention away from the topic of verification. Very frustrating.

The land of fairies and unicorns

I know that this might come as a surprise to a lot of readers, but fairies and unicorns do not exist. I wish they did. And I wish that magic genies in a bottle existed. And I wish we had time machines and magical copies of tomorrows newspaper. I wish I had my hair back. I wish I didn’t waste my youth on running boiler rooms and selling scam investments. I wish I never went to prison for fraud. Wish I could of kept the millions of dollars that I stole from people. There is much that I wish for. Instead, I have to deal with the hard cold reality of myself, and the world as it is. I have been around for 47 years and have witnessed much. For the past 29 years, I have seen more financial fraud than I care to witness. I have been to prison and met more financial fraudsters than just about anyone on the planet Earth. I just get it. When it comes to money, humans are downright ugly. The internet was supposed to make us infinitely smarter. Instead, it appears to make fools of us daily.

Mr. Perry is living in a fantasy world. These imaginary profits are no more real than dancing fairies, a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow, or a fountain of youth. But when we look at Mr. Perry’s record, we want to believe. We dream of profiting $100,000 each and every month. We only need to buy the secrets contained within the trading manual. A $497 trading manual. Does this pass the sniff test?

Of course, I could be wrong. Mr. Perry could be the worlds greatest trader and is generously giving away his secret trading method because he wants to make the world a better place. That everyone seeking the secrets to trading can simply buy the manual and all the world’s money problems will magically disappear. But think about it folks…

Wrapping Things Up

Yet another trading scammer out peddling useless garbage on the internet. Once asked for proof, Mr. Perry hustles and jives and dances in a lame pirouette of financial buffoonery. Some will see this lame dance and mistake him for an exotic dancer, willing to stuff their money down his G-string underwear. If you do, then best of luck! Please come back and write about your experience. Some readers might love Mr. Perry and believe him wholeheartedly. Your opinion is welcome. I encourage you to join the conversation.

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading and don’t forget to leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

67 Comments on "The Strategy Lab"

Notify of
avatar
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
Other File Types
 
 
 
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Todd
Guest
Sort of reminds of David Kuvelas from Oil Trading Academy. The more outrageous the claims, the more people you attract to take a look. Then, for the relatively small amount of money, compared to others, people don’t get too much up in arms when they realize it is a scam. People get outraged with Kuvelas because when he is challenged with his fraud, he engages with nasty ridicule. I don’t expect this guy does that. So many ways to scam people in this business and a brilliant strategy is to make the most ridiculous claims, and don’t take too much… Read more »
Stray Dog
Guest

I wonder what the best price point is for scamming. My guess would be around the $300 mark. I know that 7 is supposed to have a psychological effect when it involves a purchase so $247, $397 etc. are better numbers than $250 and $400 if you want to get someone to click “sign me up.” I really should get “Stray Dog Trades” up and running. I think I’ll use $297 annual membership fee for full access to the “Dog Den.” 9.6 suckers (I mean clients) a week signing up and I’ll have a nice second income.

robert
Guest

yes this M.A. perry is a real master of the game of scamming it seems. i just looked at his posts on elitetrader where he is wrbtrader. he has dozens, maybe hundreds attacking anyone who is down on ‘educational vendors’. it seems that on that site he hides the fact he is a vendor.

sam
Guest
Looking at his wordy results pages is just craptacular with lots of links to new sites and daily regurtitation of news instead of trading analysis and setups. 77 ES points in one day? 3200 ES points in a month? Many scam vendor results only boast not much more than a hundred points a month. This guy would be a big power hedge fund by now and not have to sell 12k mentorships. Sorry you fell for this RobB. I might have too if this was one of the first vendors I came across. Usually we get duped on different paths… Read more »
Rob B
Guest
When I got started in day trading I thought these Trading Room Operators where for real. At that time I had no idea the whole industry is nothing but swindlers. And that Kool-Aide taste so good it is hard to get off. Now that I have seen the light I Skype with other traders and can tell them the truth about this industry until I am blue in the face, but I have come to realize you can lead a horse to water but you can not make them drink. Each person must come to see reality themselves and many… Read more »
sam
Guest
Thanks for the anecdote RobB. I think I know who you’re talking about on big mike’s. “JaguarEd” who acted like a guru on the boards and outside it. I read that thread where he was exposed and rarely took trades even if it was sim. Eventually BM got rid of most of those early charlatan members like Felton and Jaguar, but he still has a bunch that linger like ft71 and jigsaw. As usual none of them, not one show any real proof. There are even former members who become vendors and yes , bmt is biased with those vendors… Read more »
Osikani
Guest

Just how small is a “microscalp” on /CL, especially considering that a 6 ticks target is a day trade to a scalper? Just being facetious.

sam
Guest
I think it was like four ticks profit. The Jaguar guy often said in his thread which he kept updated in the beginner’s area to get attention that he was primarily a scalper. I suppose it can be done, but you need to be more than 90% right every session to be worth it. From what I saw in the expose thread, like RobB said, he had fabricated his results completely and got away with it for years. Maybe he didn’t even have a working live account anymore. A lot of these scam vendors can’t even show a statement because… Read more »
Rob B
Member
Gosh, did you have to review this room. I am embarrassed to say I was scammed by this room thanks to lovely Dean Handley. Good old Lying Dr. Dean. If Trump called Ted Cruz Lying Ted, I could imagine what he would call scum bag Handley. There is no way in hell Lying Dr. Dean took Mark Perry’s trades and made a dime. NO WAY!!!! At least I was not scammed out of a lot of money on this room and I have a surprise ending to this story. But first the bad. Man I had arguments with good old… Read more »
sam
Guest

Dean’s websites seem to be down. Maybe he couldn’t keep up with the hosting costs? globaltrade’teton’s link description says “Advanced mathematical analysis of trading rooms from Dr. Dean Handley.”; lol, more like ‘advanced’ ways to gloss over glaring problems of trading proof with these rooms.

Maurice
Guest

Thanks for this review, Emmett. Eye-opening, to say the least. I’ve known about M.A. Perry and The Strategy Lab for a few years and actually thought he was one of the few legit trading guys. Fortunately, I never bought anything from him – just read some of the free articles on his site.

Silo
Guest

This whole wrbtrader strategy is really “confuse them with bullshit”

James
Guest
I recommend any customers of this guy to report him to the CFTC via the link Emmett provided in another review: https://forms.cftc.gov/_layouts/PublicForms/TipsAndComplaints.aspx As a newbie I paid around $450 for his worthless WRB manual based on the amazing track record on his site. It was the track record that swayed me to make that purchase. Given that the CFTC has been busting people lately for promoting fake track records I think it’s time to get this douche WRBtrader to pay the price for his shenanigans. His track record is faked. He had a trade calling room but the calls were… Read more »
James
Guest

Oh, I forgot to mention.

WRB has also claimed to have been accepted to medical school. His story was that he dropped out of med school after 1 year to become a trader, and never looked back.

Pretty funny, when you consider how unsophisticated he sounded, that he actually tells people he got into med school. He is probably trying to copy the Al Brooks marketing tactic of “trust me, I’m a doctor”.

dtchurn
Guest
Good follow up. After getting support from the elite mod, his thread where RobB was exposing his schtick was shut down. wrb-blather continues to tout himself as some trading export. I suspect when Emmett called WRBby and KenCalhoun, they were “quiet” and “unsophisticated” because they were suddenly tongue tied after having so much free reign on the web. They knew with Emmett’s call it was the beginning of THE END with reviews coming soon exposing their sham to the mob of duped former noobs. TS is the only untainted resource. They know Emmett can’t be bought because the feds are… Read more »
robert
Guest

well sad to say this is one of the rooms I joined. I paid the money and could not understand what he was trying to say in his various manuals and the iirc chat room. I assumed he might be from china or somewhere due to the level of writing- very confusing.
At least it only cost me a few hundred and I could see it was a waste of time quite quickly.

Rob B
Member

Yes, the funny thing is most people I talked to gave up on just trying to figure out the manual and his insane rules. But I actually mustered through it until I understood it. Not that that helped.

robert
Guest

looking back I also wondered if it was part of the scam. The effects of a maze and a hansel and gretel crumb trail, combined with a Karate Kid apprenticeship, so you couldn’t be sure that sooner or later something useful wouldn’t appear: brilliant in a devious way?

Rob B
Member

It is hard to imagine one putting together an educational package that is that murky unless they are dong it on purpose to blame the user for not following the method properly.

sam
Guest

Yup, a confusing manual is part of the con. It’s all a variation of the bag of tricks these scammers use or make up. Remember, their business is scamming, so they use most of their time and resources to ensnare fees and subs from new dupes. Other scam vendors offer a bewildering array of products, or constantly new updated “methods”. All a variation of the red herrings theme. Wordy trading books with no practical advice are similar in that way.

forex
Guest

There is a discussion on ELitetrader and the owner of Et says wrbtraders claims seem bogus.
https://www.elitetrader.com/et/threads/where-did-wrbtrader-go.304444/

sam
Guest

I hadn’t heard of this guy or his site. But Dean Handley claiming he followed the guy’s trades when it looks like no trades were called? I am pretty much out of any more respect I had of Dean’s reviewing. It sounds more like anyone can pay a fee to Handley and get a good review. Maybe there was an earlier time he did honest reviewing but now his service smells corrupt as the scam vendors he praises. And why can’t Dean just trade the good calls he gets from these rooms, because there are none.

kirk
Guest
sam
Guest

Looks like they shut down that thread and another one due to the shill poster’s complaints. He just kept saying his “friend” is honest, but never explains why no verified track record and also uses multiple accounts. Glad ts.org doesn’t cater to that nonsense.

London Trader
Guest
London Trader

To me you are all Americans.

EU trader
Guest

I am confused about write apologizing about describing the person. Can’t understand what’s wrong about referring to a simple black man. It’s still a simple man:)

Tradeau
Guest
There is nothing wrong with saying he is a simple black man in context, considering wrbtrader has written that English is his second language, possibly to excuse his simple writing/speaking style. Wrbtrader often edits his posts on Elitetrader repeatedly to come off more sophisticated/perfectionistic (non-simple), that was all part of the marketing deception, if this review’s conclusions are correct. Thank you for this review Mr. Moore. I also want to bring to light a potential conflict of interest between wrbtrader and Baron, the site owner of Elitetrader. He discreetly gave wrbtrader a new account against the stated terms of service,… Read more »
Rick
Guest

That is because people like you thought he was black AND a muslim because of the name NihabaAshi. It is a Asian name. But most people are too stupid to realize that. Even Emmet thought he was black, which he is not. How dumb right?

italiansharp
Guest

“as you can imagine, we went back and forth in this pretzel of conversation that was meant to divert my attention away from the topic of verification. Very frustrating.”

yes this slick scammer has been around for a while..stay away from him..shady character..doesnt trade real money and all his results are FAKE as stated.

Also claims to have family and connections in the trading industry as he will point it out several times to you. Part of his game.

traderitaliano
Guest
traderitaliano

Hi guys

I’d like to know more about WRB and honest review can someone contact me here : traderitaliano@gmail.com

Italiansharp sono italiano puoi scrivermi un email al mio contatto per discutere di questo corso 🙂 ?

Thanks

sam
Guest

wrbtrader/maPerry is similar to the fraudster JaguarEd of protraderblogspot. they have a “home” on a forum for years and maintain a presence as some resident “guru”. wrb seemed to be a bit more sophisticated until he was caught.. He should have written some books on amazon. Now the threads on elite are locked up due to his shill poster or alter alias moaning about ts.org.

Rob B
Guest

How you know the person that will contact you will be honest. Mark refuses to show any proof of his self-proclaimed results. I would suggestion you contact Mark and say you want to see actual proof of his results via brokerage statements. And see how fast he runs.

sam
Guest

What a riot. maperry/wrbtrader quickly working to reestablish his guru-ness on elite after they’ve locked the tradingschools review and robb’s threads.
http://www.elitetrader.com/et/index.php?threads/took-out-a-loan-to-transition-to-full-time-trading-24-years-old.298510/page-22

OnTheFenceAboutWhatUareSaying
Guest

Could you please show me where it is initiated that someone is offered the opportunity to selling coaching programs? I have spent a great deal of time learning M.A. Perry’s wrbhg trading method and the only thing I recall about promotional participation was 20 and 25 % referral fee you also mentioned.

Bob
Guest

Has anyone noticed that thestrategylab does not have any new updates since Sept 13, 2016? Maybe he got busted !!!

Pete
Guest

wrbtrader has abandoned his site and Elitetrader, atleast temporarily. Prayers around the world are flooding in from day traders for Al Brooks to follow wrbtrader’s example prior to the conclusion of the CFTC investigations.

Cyn
Guest

What CFTC investigations?

James
Guest

I’ve noticed that too. He was last seen in mid-September. I wonder if the CFTC got to him? I sure hope so.

Dave
Guest
I think that your comment on him sounding like an African American is racist. That is the only reason I can see that you would mention that fact is that you are implying that African Americans cannot trade. You could have said the exact same paragraph without out mentioning his race. For example, if you had edited the paragraph as follows, would it really have taken anything away from the message of your piece ? “However, the conversation was very strange. M. A. Perry is a middle aged male that sounded very unsophisticated. Mr. Perry struck me as a very… Read more »
majormongo
Guest
wpDiscuz