Day Trade SPY

DayTradeSPY
  • Honesty
    (2)
  • Quality
    (1)
  • Cost
    (1)
  • Support
    (2)
  • Verified Trades
    (1)
  • User Experience
    (2)
1.5

Summary

Hugh Grossman of DayTradeSPY wants you to believe that he earns 5% daily with his magical trading methods. For only $2500, you too can realize your wildest dreams of unlimited shrimp cocktail and bikini babes lounging by the pool.

Unfortunately, this so-called investment strategy is not rooted in reality. Rather, it’s floating in an orbit of ether and snake oil.

Does anyone really believe they can easily earn 5% daily investment returns, with only 1-hour of work? Buyer beware.

In spite of this outrageous proposition, Hugh Grossman remains a lovable and laughable character. A worthy carnival barker.

Thanks for reading today’s review of Day Trade SPY

What is Day Trade SPY? The company is owned and operated by Hugh Grossman, out of Niagara Falls, New York. The company is offering the following products and services:

  • Hugh’s Inner Circle: $110 per week where Hugh shares his “Morning Market Assesment.”
  • Pick of the Day: $50 per week. At 9:00 am EST, Hugh makes one trading recommendation.
  • Hugh’s Trading Room: $110 per week. The room is 30-45 minutes and Hugh shares his “thoughts.”
  • Hugh’s Basic Trading Course: $1,500. A course that teaches you how to earn 15% every day before 10:30 am.
  • Hugh’s Ultimate Trading Course: $2,500. A course that teaches you how to turn $1k into $100k in one year.
  • Hugh’s Trading Videos: 10 ‘secret’ videos for $1,490.

According to Archive.Org, the DayTradeSPY website has been in operation since 2016. Prior to 2016, since at least 2010, Hugh Grossman operated another website named eStockOptionTrading.com. This URL now forwards to DayTradeSPY.

DayTradeSPY currently occupies the following social media profiles:

Purported Trading Performance

On the DayTradeSPY website, there is a performance page that lists the supposed trading performance of Hugh Grossman. It looks good. Too good. In fact, Hugh Grossman claims that he earns 5% daily, trading only one hour each day. The following screenshot was pulled from the header section of the website.

day trade spy

At this point, most readers of TradingSchools.Org are probably sighing or screaming at their computer screen. Can anyone really earn 5% each and every day? Trading only one hour per day?

Wow Hugh, you truly must be the world’s greatest trader and financial savant. If I were to invest only $100 into your super secret trading method and simply reinvest the earnings, then at the end of one-year, my total profit would be $4,247,778,498.86.

Yep, in only a single year I can turn $100 into over $4 billion dollars.

Just a few more weeks and Hugh’s secret trading method will pay off the entire $20 trillion national debt! Therefore, I hereby nominate Hugh Grossman Secretary of the US Treasury. His truly magical trading method, which requires one hour each day can enrich every single American. We can all be rich! The best part is that Hugh claims that his method is “simple.”

Contacting Hugh Grossman

I first came in contact with Hugh Grossman in late 2016. A reader of TradingSchools.Org sent me an email and requested that I review the trading service. They had sent me a screenshot of the supposed “5% daily” investment returns…we both had a giggle.

My initial impression was…who would actually believe something so outrageously fraudulent? This sort of thing is just whacky. So I next sent Hugh Grossman an email and introduced myself. I requested an official review. In my email, I explained that hardly anyone that cooperates and is completely honest and transparent will get a bad review. I recommended that he call me. That based on the “5% daily” investment returns, it was highly likely that I would have plenty of fun with this review.

To my surprise, Hugh called me. He was familiar with my strange obsession with writing about trading educators. The conversation started off funny, and only got funnier. I told him, Hugh this is just nuts! He responded, “How many carnivals sold tickets to see the 185-pound fat woman? Exactly none. But there are quite a few knuckleheads that will spend their money to see the 850-pound fat woman.” He is correct.

From the first minute to the last minute, Hugh was hilarious and extremely fun natured. Nobody likes it when TradingSchools.Org starts asking the tough questions. Like, do you have account statements? Which I asked Hugh. And he calmly replied, “No.” Then I asked, do you even have a trading account? He replied, “yeah, but I don’t trade much.”

Oh man, I just sat and thought to myself, what am I going to do with this character? At the end of the conversation, I told Hugh the following:

  • If I don’t get any complaints, you won’t hear from me again. You are too small to write about.
  • I asked him to try and start trading with a live account for a potentially positive review.
  • Please stay small. If you get too big, then I have to write something.

With a laugh, we hung up the phone.

Fast Forward One-Year

Well, sure enough, Hugh couldn’t stay small. He decided to expand and start advertising. And so the requests to review jumped dramatically. So here we are. What has changed?

First things first, Hugh published a book on January 25, 2018 titled: Roadmap to Wealth. I purchased the book for $3.95 and commenced to read. So what did I think?

Firstly, it saddens me to think that a tree had to sacrifice its life to provide a canvas for this disastrous print. The book is remarkably terrible. Its as if Hugh picked up a random crayon with his toe, and proceeded to ‘draw’ a book. It is pure nonsense. The entire book is nothing more than a funnel which attempts to drive traffic to his corny website.

Some of the claims inside of the book are so ridiculous and outrageously fraudulent that it boggles the imagination that any person could actually believe such dribble. For instance, he dedicates a chapter to each of his supposed star students that have achieved fantastical investment returns. Like some character named Mujahid that supposedly turned $1k into $100k – twice. Within a year.

And some other story of a broke and desperate truck driver (Trucker Rick) with a hernia and not enough money to retire. But Hugh saved the day and now Trucker Rick is retired and enjoying the good life of unlimited shrimp cocktail and bikini babes.

Some other characters as well, like “Double Digit Dennis” and “Helpless Heather” and “Rich Richard.” All characters where Hugh has changed their lives and they are enjoying a lifestyle of unlimited shrimp cocktail and the finest champaign. The book declares in bold print, “These are all true life cases.”

As I sat there and opined that I had actually wasted $3.95 on this book, I thought to myself…what else could go wrong? It turns out, plenty more.

Apparently, Hugh has decided that he wants to enter the grand stage and become a world-class snake oil salesman. He will be a joining the other world-class investment experts at The Money Show in Las Vegas on May 14 – 16.

I am truly curious what his sales booth will look like.  I imagine it nestled between the guy selling an investment in an ostrich egg farm, and the guy selling a coconut plantation in Belize. Squeezed in between charlatan A and charlatan C, you will find charlatan B. Proudly proclaiming that his magical snake oil 5% daily investment returns will greatly improve your life.

Wrapping things up

In this review, I really tried to extract and separate Hugh Grossman from ‘Hugh Grossman 5% daily investment returns’. The truth is that Hugh is a really charming and fun character. The kind of guy that I would really enjoy hanging out with. He is fun and entertaining.

But I am also sure that Hugh is going to read this, and his feelings will be hurt. Nobody likes to be called a snake oil salesman.

Ultimately, my loyalty remains with the consumer. The real ‘Trucker Rick’ that is genuinely searching for answers, and looking for honest solutions. I cannot allow myself to be conned. And by not telling the truth about Hugh (at least my truth) would betray the trust of the audience.

Thanks for reading. Would love to know your thoughts. Have you ever been duped by a lovable con artist?

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
david
david
3 months ago

I tried the live trading room in June 2020 and everything he promised was false. He said there would be mentoring, coaching, etc… and there is none of that. Basically he broadcasts and you watch and when I asked questions I was told to keep watching and that members typically “start getting it” after a year !! It cost $99/week ! Hugh is a dishonest person. I tried to set this right with him but he wouldn’t hear it. Stay away from this scam artist.

Bruce
Bruce
7 months ago

You said above “If I don’t get any complaints, you won’t hear from me again. “. Well, I have a complaint that I would like to discuss with you. Would you please call me at 704-253-0140. Thank you. Bruce

LeeRoy Jenkins
LeeRoy Jenkins
7 months ago
Reply to  Bruce

Bruce, you are a real MENSA member putting your phone number on a website.

Jimmie Dean
Jimmie Dean
1 year ago

I do not currently subscribe to Hugh’s service. I probably first started trading with him back around 2016. His claims of 5% daily on RISK are easily obtainable. It is even easier if you are a member of the trade room and follow him like a robot. I personally watched a friend of mine increase his account considerably in less than a year (low 9 figures).
My problem is one that I think several people have trouble with. That is managing the rare loser. Hugh recommends trading small enough amounts that you have 4 times the capital available to repair trades. In other words if you are risking $1,000, you should have $4,000 available to average your trades. He is great at doing that.
I was not too good at it and still do not like doing it. I have just decided to take a 65% loss ON RISK instead of repairing. This results in about 4-7 losers over a year. This allows me to grow considerably. My son and I both doubled our risk several times with him being a complete novice.

No system is perfect. However, if you are somewhat experienced and adapt his system to your risk tolerance, great gains can be realized.

I do agree with the premise that he is heavy on marketing.

Rich Hendin
Rich Hendin
1 year ago

People – Hugh does not say that he grows his account by 5% per day. He says he makes 5% per day, but that is on the amount that is used for the trade. He recommends using 10% to 20% of your account balance for a trade.

He is almost a genius on the technicals side, and reviews those with us each morning before the 9:30 Eastern time bell. I have learned so much about technicals from him.

He does have losing trades here and there, usually 1 or 2 days per month. However, he is excellent at managing those losers to get them back to break even more than half the time. Unfortunately, that part of the trade usually does not occur during the live trade room, but later in the day when he thinks the market is poised to move back in his direction. he will average down the price of his options by getting more contracts at the much lower price, and if he was correct about the market direction, he can turn that loser into a no loss / no gain.

It’s those initially losing trades that take some of us a long time to master. I have decided to stop trying. I usually have 1 loser per month, but I cap the loss at 60% of the amount invested, which is 15% of my account. On the other 19 trading days in the month, I make 6% gross, 5.5% net on the amount invested. 5.5% x 19 – 60% = about 45% on the amount invested, which = about 7% per month on my account, so I double my money in about 10 months. However, I usually do much better. For example, in my first 18 months in the trading room, I tripled my account.

Once you realize that the 5% is on the amount in the trade, and you actually join the trade room, you see that it really does work. By the way, I am the “Rich Richard” referred to in the review, and Hugh really did turn my trading around. Just my 2 cents worth.

Joan
Joan
2 years ago

The name “Hugh Grossman” is just an alias. His real name is found other places on the web if anyone really wants to look for it. As for turning $1,000 into $100,000 within a year using real money, that part is true. He issued the challenge to his subscribers but he didn’t take part himself. I followed along in sim mode, but I didn’t come close. Mujahid was the only person who could do it, and he did it twice. The second time around he did it in nine months. It may have been a ruse, but I watched the proceedings both times and it looked legitimate.

The “Hugh” method is a simple anchor technique. There is nothing complicated or secret about it. Mujahid was an experienced trader who threw his own knowledge into the mix. He didn’t follow the daily picks from “Hugh” or settle for the recommended 6% daily profit or sit through the recommended 40% to 60% stop loss. In that “Hugh” sells the dream of becoming rich under those conditions, yes, that’s snake oil. I was a student of “Hugh” before he jacked up the prices, so it didn’t cost me very much. I bailed out when I ran across the web site of his disgruntled business partner. It was enlightening and spot on.

LeeRoy Jenkins
LeeRoy Jenkins
1 year ago
Reply to  Joan

Who is his former business partner? Would be interested to know what happened.

I was about to sign up for this program but luckily found this review before I paid. There is a special place in hell for people like this guy. Selling dreams of riches while taking four figures from hard working people.

SMG
SMG
2 years ago

If you follow Hugh’s method with strict discipline it does work. An average trader could take $25K and after a year of successful trading be in a good position. Don’t follow it, become a pig guessing at SPY movement and you will quickly be separated from your cash. Hugh is transparent with his inner circle, which is $79 per month BTW not per week as quoted in the review. The inner circle is a bargain for a beginner. I have personally talked with Hugh and always received prompt support and email responses. As with any trading method or plan you must allow for losing trades. Hugh teaches one how to maintain a high percentage of winning trades. Under choppy movement with implied volatility at a certain percentage you can pluck money out of SPY multiple times per day without risking everything. Three winning trades per day profiting around $50 each three or four times a week with one minor losing trade per week adds up over time.

Lawrence Lugar
Lawrence Lugar
2 years ago

5%/day is Possible.
Weekly options are volatile trading instruments.

I didn’t say it’s easy, trading is not easy for the average man to accomplish…But it’s certainly possible.
That potential window of opportunity is there and existent for the great trader to attempt to seize, if they are wise and experienced and knowledgeable.

Lawrence Lugar
Lawrence Lugar
2 years ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

I’ve been doing this exact, and only, strategy since about 2011.
I can tell you it’s certainly possible to accomplish 5%/day.
5% is actually somewhat modest, to be quite frank. Like I mentioned, weekly options are volatile.

I randomly discovered this topic/website post…through a random chain of events. I forgot what trading topic I originally googled hours back ago to land here.

If you tell anybody in finance you do 5%/day…they will all laugh at you and think you’re full of stuff.
You obviously can’t compound to the Moon and make a Billion…but you can make a nice living day trading weekly options. Trading the same fixed amount or so per trade everyday.

Jon
Jon
2 years ago
Reply to  Lawrence Lugar

Only 5% a day. What a loser. I make 10% a day. Just join Jon Jon Day Trading Room for $1000 / month and you too can make 10% a day and quickly become the richest person on the planet. It must be true because I say it is. And I have been doing it since the 1920’s. And no I don’t need to show you haters any proof. Those hater losers don’t understand how easy it is to make 10% a day. Again Join Jon Jon Day Trading Room today and I will give a 50% one time only discount. Limited time offer.

Lawrence Lugar
Lawrence Lugar
2 years ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

I’m just curious…if someone were to show you actual trading account history records…showing a daily average gain of, let’s say 5%, would you consider that person to be one of the best traders in the world, throughout history, who’ve you ever seen?

Let’s say, hypothetically, someone has averaged 5% daily for the past three years. or 10 years, for that matter.
I’m always eager to analyze the best traders, ever.

I got that same sarcasm from trading forums as well regarding those returns and options trading whenever the topic would come up about account performance.
Most trading forums are filled with jaded, cynical, dark average/failed traders…who are so quick to bring anyone down who displays any glimmer of hope of being a success.

jon
jon
2 years ago
Reply to  Lawrence Lugar

“’Im just curious…if someone were to show you actual trading account history records…showing a daily average gain of, let’s say 5%, would you consider that person to be one of the best traders in the world, throughout history, who’ve you ever seen?”

Yes, are you aware of anyone showing proof of such claims?

I just leave with this tidbit, “Extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof”. Cannot wait for you to send those redacted brokerage statements to Emmett to verify.

mart
mart
4 months ago
Reply to  jon

you can easily do 5% a day but what risk are you hiding.
it works until it doesn’t.
and it can work for a while

Chris
Chris
2 years ago
Reply to  Lawrence Lugar

You just nailed the average poster on this blog perfectly.

19
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x