Christian Financial Radio Network UPDATED Review

  • Honesty
    (3)
  • Quality
    (1.5)
  • Cost
    (1.5)
  • Support
    (1.5)
  • Verified Trades
    (1.5)
  • User Experience
    (1)
1.7

Christain Financial Radio Network

Unfortunately, complaints have started to pile up from real traders that simply cannot duplicate the trades called within the trading room. The trading method, which is scalping has serious flaws that we discovered trading in a real market with with real money.

Sending
User Review
1.67 (12 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)
Pros: A simple method. Scalping and short term trading method.
Cons: Traded markets, in particular Natural Gas and Soybeans cannot be replicated. Thin and light traded markets cannot be scalped. Many, many customer complaints. CFRN refuses to acknowledge the problem and continues to sell flawed product.

CFRN Updated Review

On Christmas Eve, December 2014, I wrote a highly positive review of the Christian Financial Radio Network. Of course, I am always really careful about posting a positive review simply because I know that a lot of folks will rush out and spend thousands of dollars on the product. In addition to purchasing the product, I have to consider that a person is trusting that my information will be valid for them. I take this responsibility very seriously.

My First Complaint About CFRN and Dewayne Reeves

On February 2, 2014 I received an email from a person trading out of Switzerland. They explained that based upon my positive review, they had spent $4,000 for the trading course. They then began paper trading as recommended by Dewayne. After a month of paper trading and copying approximately 85% of the trades called with the trading room, they decided to begin trading with a live trading account. The live trading results were horrible. In fact, the rate in which they were able to copy the live trades within the trading room had plummeted down to 15%. The end result is that a $30,000 futures trading account had quickly lost $10,000. I felt terrible. I felt responsible. Dewayne said that the trader was at fault and just needed to try harder.

The following month I once again began to record the live trades within the CFRN trading room. On paper they looked great. However, the person out of Switzerland continued to struggle and lose money. This confused me. I could see the trades happening on the screen recordings, and I could see the trades being executed at CFRN, however the Swiss trader kept missing the trades by just a tiny moment.

I then received another email from a trader living in South America. They had also read my review, sent $3,000 and also lost money because they simply could not copy the trades in the CFRN trading room. I became really distressed and then asked that both traders send account statements so that I could hopefully figure out, via time stamp where the problem was happening. I contacted Dewayne and expressed my concerns. He became less and less enthused about my questions and began delaying responses. Eventually he told me to go away and stop contacting him. I explained that real people were losing a lot of money, and they were losing it very fast as a result of my positive review. A bit shamefully, and with more than a bit of regret…I got to see a side of CFRN that is certainly not very Christian.

Figuring Out The Problem

After beating myself up, and spending many hours reviewing the trading data posted at CFRN versus the foreign clients, I began to see the problem and the pattern is very clear. The majority of the losses and the disconnect was happening between the Natural Gas and the Soybean trades. These two markets represent a big portion of the CFRN profits and are used to market the CFRN course, however these markets in particular are very thin markets. What is a thin market? It simply means that there is not a lot of trading volume, and anyone using limit orders would have a difficult time getting a price fill. With the foreign traders, I discovered the problem…latency. This was a simple matter of people being too far away from the central exchange in Chicago. Michael at CFRN was able to execute these small scalping trades because he lives very to close to the exchange, but the folks living farther away had absolutely no chance of replication.

The issue of replication is a huge deal. And I take full responsibility for those that I hurt. In fact, after discovering that my review had caused this damage, I nearly shut down the Trading Schools blog. Whom wants to spread misinformation and cause the innocent to lose their savings? Not me.

Where Do We Go From Here?

I have learned a valuable lesson from this. Although a trading room may prove successful on a simulator or even a live trading account, I really need to take into account whether the trades can actually be repeated. I also need to consider that I have entered thousands of trades on a DOM and have a lot of experience. Even with my vast experience, I also had a very difficult time replicating the CFRN trades. With this being said, I have to sincerely apologize to all readers, known and unknown, that took action and paid CFRN money. The truth is the truth, and it has become apparent that the scalping method taught at CFRN is not going to work for the majority. And considering that there are plenty of educators out there where trades are easily replicated, I have to remove my endorsement.

More Negative Reviews

In total, I received about 30 emails from people that had either participated in the trial, had paid money to CFRN, or lost money trading in a live account. I even got a phone call from a lady in Oregon that had purchased the program based upon a review she had read about in Futures Truth and how Dean Handley had also written a positive review. I reached out to Dean Handley and requested information and whether he had properly vetted CFRN. He simply replied that his review was written on a quick observation and had no screen recordings or live trading data to back up his claim. He could provide me nothing, but ironically marketed to me his own trading room (Tessaract Trading). I thought this a very cynical and self serving response. Anyway, if I ever attempt to open or offer a trading room, somebody better shoot me quick!

Where There Is Smoke, There Is Usually Fire

Over the past several months, there is now enough smoke to cause me a massive amount of coughing. And I  now have enough real people stacked up that have lost real money from real trading accounts because the CFRN scalping method cannot be replicated. I feel bad. I got duped. I have asked that CRFN make changes, but no response. Perhaps if enough of us start making a fuss, then Dewayne and Michael will admit that the method does now work for most and that scalping cannot work for those that do not live within a very close proximity of the exchange.

What Is Most Important

To me, what is most important is that since I started this blog, I have learned a lot about trading performance. And beyond discovering whether a trading product is an outright fraud, I need to make sure that the trading room performance can be copied by a grandmother. Seriously, if a grandma from Oregon cannot make money, then I wont ever take another chance and recommend a product unless the trader has a fighting chance. Many apologies to my readers. Especially those that lost money.

 

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

59 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Morina
1 year ago

Can you please review this site and all the promises they make. I have a friend who lost quite a bit of $$$

Brad
Brad
3 years ago

I emailed CFR and asked for some trading results. I later listened to a recording of his room and he read my email out loud to the group!! He mocked me for asking him how he’s doing. What a jerk.

Grant LeDuc
Grant LeDuc
3 years ago

I took the 5 day test trial and I didn’t even last the full 5 days before red flags started popping up. Michael’s scalping method seemed O.K. except that you need the right platform ( My think or swim would not work), they just scalped quick 4 tick scalps using a 4 tick range chart. You needed their special indicators (anyone who is selling indicators is a red flag to me. I trade on price action).
But then there is Dewayne – he was making support and resistance swing type trades that he could not verify, had no track record, and could not explain how he did it because it was “proprietory info” that they would not divulge even with the paid course. I did not get the impression the Dewayne knew how to trade.
The worst thing about these guys is that they are stealing peoples money in the name of Jesus, and for that I hope that they ROT IN HELL!!

James
James
3 years ago

Hi there, I’ve been a CFRN member for a while now and can say nothing but good things about the company and the owners. My experience is that they are helpful and approachable and very eager to support anyone (even guests) following along with them…

Now to respond to the artical… the room is NOT meant to be a copy trade room. They tell everyone over and over again and for good reason.
If you’re copying trades in any room you have LAG… lag with the room feed, lag with your data feed, then lag with your trade execution, then lag with the order execution if you’re far from the exchange, etc… It’s not designed for it, it’s not meant to be used like that and it’s not sold as such. If people have lost money on account of this, then sadly it’s simply their own fault.

There is a fix if you’re losing money because of copying trades…simply STOP doing it.!
ALSO If you’re trading Live before you’ve Proven YOU can be profitable in Sim at least… then STOP. Keep your money. Noone is forcing you to trade or risk your money.

The core CFRN strategy is just a methodology like many others…, it’s not magic! It won’t make a Bad trader with bad habits and immature tradecraft good… and copying room trades shows you dont really know how to trade yet… which is fine… it just means you’re not ready… no matter how much you want to be.
Now I love blackjack, but If I’m a rubbish player, I’m not going to get any better because I sit next to a good blackjack player and try to copy his plays… I’m going to lose… and loose BIG!

SIMPLE LESSON… LEARN HOW TO PLAY BEFORE USING REAL MONEY!!!!!!

In short I think CFRN market a great easy to learn product and show it works in their trading room… it’s a good system, a proven system, I think a great service and at a competative price.

Do I recommend CFRN? Sure I do! Do I recommend you actually learn how to trade BEFORE committing your funds (no matter what your meathodology)… EVEN MORE SO!

Jay
Jay
3 years ago

The head trader is not trading live. He’s trading on a sim account. He manipulates his results and enters them into an excel sheet. He conveniently ‘stops to break even’ when it is against his rules. He also tends to ‘exit’ at the very top of the move. When challenged on the discrepancies he’ll say ‘oh I got in that trade early’. Many times he will say he moved his stop to break even when his rules do not warrant it and he would actually take an 8 tick loss if he really followed his system. I seriously doubt that DeWayne has ever traded anything in his life. These guys aren’t traders, they’re just another group selling a system that does not work. Stay away!

dtchurn
dtchurn
3 years ago
Reply to  Jay

I still get CFRN’s spam email and occassionally check them out to see what’s going on with it since this review. It’s only gotten worse. Sad, sickening, and shameful that the traditional faith is used as their schtick for fraudulent means of a shamshow site and room.

Rick
Rick
3 years ago

These guys put up a spreadsheet that you are supposed to be able to see but I can not find it anywhere on their site. And now they finally have a disclaimer on that spreadsheet Michael shows in the recap. I think it says something about hypothetical results which to me means they are not really trading live?

Ron
Ron
3 years ago

I was a member of CFRN for 3 years. I could not match the head traders trades and would often have losing days. He made money everyday…that’s a red flag right there. He has 1 or 2 losing days a month. It took me a long time to figure out what the head trader was doing. He shows a lot of his trades on the DOM…but not all. This would make you feel he is honest. I would be in a trade setup and it would lose immediately. He either ignored that lose or he missed getting filled. He is very good at this. He shows some loses…but not all. He rights on a piece of paper his trades for the day. I asked him once why he doesn’t show the P/L on the DOM…he purposely turns it off. He said he didn’t like seeing the P/L during trading for physiological reasons. BUT…at the end of the morning when he is done trading…he still won’t show his P/L on the DOM. I realized he was scamming everyone. One of the best scammers I have ever seen in the business.

dtchurn
dtchurn
3 years ago
Reply to  Ron

Thanks for sharing. Sorry it took years for you to realize what tricks the host used. The trading sites before TS and Emmett either were subverted with select vendor deals or failed to truthfully review these thousands of snakeoil sites. If you read the reviews and comments here eventually you’ll be informed by the myriad sham tricks they use to fool newbs as well as new ones they come up with each year.. The continued chicanery is incredible. They all can’t trade live, and there are only a handful “well-reviewed” who can only trade breakeven live but yet still need to run a site for fee income.

been had
been had
3 years ago

CFRN tried for 6 months to make it work and lost my money plus another 1000bucks trying. They will not give you a personal mentoring session like they claim without jumping through so many hoops, you give up first. There is only 2 guys running it, so unless your spending a lot of money on their other promotions, that cost by the month, like the “one trade a day” or other come on’s, they won’t answer your enquiries. Move on to some other organization. You’ll just be frustrated & lose money here.

dtchurn
dtchurn
3 years ago
Reply to  been had

Two individuals trying to look like an”organization” with no shame of using the name of the faith for a fraud. I also think they are wannabe quasi-religious radio heads like Roy Master’s FHU which made millions in the radio business.

Brad
Brad
4 years ago

I asked him for some historical results, after all he is putting himself forward as the guru. He read my entire email out in class belittling and mocking my request! What a jerk…

anyonymous
anyonymous
4 years ago

CFRN is a scalp room, and you better be quick and fast. Also anyone wishing to copy their trades will not succed, you must learn to be very fast.

Elliot
Elliot
4 years ago

I was tempted to begin paying them but got spooked by a lack of professionalism. Your website confirmed my suspicions. Your work on this site is incredibly valuable in speeding up my learning curve. I am logging in simply to say THANK YOU!!!!

emailspamalert
emailspamalert
4 years ago

I continue to get spam email from them. Their latest spam seems to be attention gaining. One email said they had problems with their server and asked if old members could sign in and have them recheck their IP’s. Another email said CFRN was “closed” but their were reorganizing and “updating” their site. I think they really should get rid of the “C” of C-FRN and just call it FRN i.e. “fraud radio network”.

John Carper
John Carper
5 years ago

Yeah, it is like life…something about a grain of salt. Too much spoils the taste and not enough there is no taste. The main thing is to determine the honesty and then accept that there are so many different approaches. Some rooms show every trade and manage them on the charts as well as speak them out perfectly but they don’t make money. Others mumble the calls and have muddy, fuzzy charts yet they make bank, although you are not really sure if they REALLY do. Just go figure. These public forums can be a great place for people to speak their opinions…as long as we remember they are just opinions and like a protuding exterior portion of our bodies, everyone has one, including me….lol.

John Carper
John Carper
5 years ago

I have spent a fair amount of time scratching my head over CFRN, going from supporter to detractor and now heading back to a more supportive view. In their case, one needs to spend more time in the Trial to really understand what they are about (good reason for rooms to give more trials).
I came to realize that their Trade Room is not really meant for one to copy the trades exactly that Michael does, although for a very, very quick person, that may be possible, but to show you that it is entirely possible to make at least your daily goal everyday…everyday.
You have to take each one of these rooms for what they are and realize that not one will ever be the perfect fit but I do believe that the guys at CFRN are honest, and that is one of the most important things to know.
The issue with latency and slippage is a non issue because, as I said, they are not a trade call service. I live in Hawaii and believe me, we have latency problems…as well as laziness problems, but sometimes I get BETTER fills than many of the moderators calls…lol. Slippage can also be your friend. Once you learned their system, you wouldn’t need to trade the thinner markets if that was a problem where you lived.
I still remain a bit of a skeptic of every trade room because I got terribly burned by a lifetime membership in a room, that after joining, found out they were simply terrible traders. I did get a good education there but I could have gotten that for free online….live and learn. I recommend that CFRN deserves another look.

RV
RV
5 years ago
Reply to  John Carper

I seriously could not disagree more.
these guys are sheep in wolves clothing.

-RV

Alan
Alan
5 years ago

Thanks Emmett for taking the time to set up this site and for all the hard work. Your review of CFRN is spot on. Wish they would remove “Christian” from the name, but then, that is part of the scam. I tried for months to get profitable results scalping the markets that Michael does like he does. One thing I noticed is that he almost always can click in at the last second and get a fill, or that he rarely has slippage. Are you kidding me? When do you not get slippage in NG or CL when they are moving?
Please keep looking for those few hidden gems that are legit and can truly help new traders. CFRN is not one of them.

steve
steve
5 years ago

Emmet, great work as always.. keep it up… In regards to latency issues. … I’ve been trading Nat gas, oil etc since 1999 from my home in NY, and even have an autotrader program I run with my manual trades… I’ve also had bad fills etc even with a t-1 internet connection until I got a VPS service in Chicago 1 min from the exchange. problem solved….. I use
http://www.speedytradingservers.com which I have no connection with their then I use there services but there are other companies offering similar services.. Bottom line to compete with the institutions and big retail players who have servers on the exchange I believe at least in my trading I can’t trade without a VPS after seeing the difference…. I’ve even run orders side by side on my home internet and the VPS and VPS always got its fill….
Hope this helps those with latency problems and who want the playing field leveled a little bit against the big players in the markets…….

steve
steve
5 years ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

Emmett, your welcome… I just want to add some of my trading involves trading news reports like oil and Nat gas inventories with software I have from
https://jobracketbreakout.net (whom I have no affiliation with) so there’s very fast moves on those trades which would be nearly impossible from me to trade without the VPS near the exchange.. Since I have the VPS I use it on most of my trades, But I still use my home internet connection for more liquid trades at times like the ES… but oil , Nat gas , few other commodities I use the,VPS…

Steve

Robert
Robert
5 years ago
Reply to  steve

See i was thinking of using a vos, but surely you must have the latency issue of geeting the order to your vps? I cant see any advantage?

steve
steve
5 years ago
Reply to  Robert

Robert,
my software is on the VPS in Chicago which is placing the orders. I watch and control ninja from my home computer on remote desktop connection. So there’s a huge difference again since the VPS computer in Chicago is placing the orders…..

Steve

John Carper
John Carper
5 years ago

If you were to give CRFN the benefit of doubt, then you would have them schlepping a system that would work for their head trader, Michael who is an amazing multitasker,the kind of guy that can play a banjo while riding a uni cycle and juggling with his ears…oh yeah, speaking in Kling-on at the same time. I have spent a fair amount of time there and I am not sure if I want to call them crooks…yet. They appear to have a system that might work if you didn’t have a nervous breakdown learning it…but then again, it just may be a scam.
I was watching a video that DeWayne sent out that took about 10 trades from his alert (consignier) service and while he used a 8 tick stop, he added up the totals as 2 ticks here, 3 ticks there, even 1 tick here and added them all up to get a total. Who could possibly know that each of those trades was going to reverse at 2 ticks here, 3 ticks there, etc….far too convinient

John Carper
John Carper
5 years ago
Reply to  Emmett Moore

OK, so let’s say by some fat chance that you actually learned how to scalp like Michael. Since you never really were able to follow his calls (no man on earth could do that) then you wouldn’t need the room and you bought a “lifetime membership”.
These lifetime memberships are really the scam. All these rooms that only offer Lifetime Memberships act like they are doing you such a blessing but they know that if you paid by the month you would be gone within one or two months.
I hear a lot of horns and bells and I see a lot of red warning lights now whenever I see LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP!!!

59
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x