K Capital Advisors

K Capital Advisors
  • Honesty
  • Quality
  • Cost
  • Support
  • Verified Trades
  • User Experience

Summary

Account statements verified. Vendor is honest. A unique swing trading advisory that goes both long and short in highly liquid small to mid cap stocks. Average trade is 8 days in length. Adviser has a classic education and brings real world trading experience. Adviser forms hypothesis based upon fundamental research, and then executes trades based upon technical chart patterns. Very unique.

4.2
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Sending
Comments Rating 5 (1 review)
Pros: Not day trading. Trades verified with account statements. Vendor is honest and open.
Cons: Terrible website. Cost of advisory could be prohibitive for smaller accounts.

Today’s review is K Capital Advisors, a swing trading alert service that specializes in trading small to mid cap stocks. The alerts are both long and short, there is no trading of stock options. The cost of the service is $50 each month. The owner of the company is Kyle Matthew. How did I discover K Capital Advisors, and Kyle Matthew? He reached out to me. Apparently, Kyle had been reading my reviews and he wanted me to review his swing trading service. A vendor reach out to me? And actually want me to dig through their underwear drawer? To allow me to poke and to prod, and ask all my of difficult questions? If you read my reviews, I look at all of these trading vendors with a big yellow jaundiced eyeball. You will find little compassion and mercy from me. And so, I decided that if Kyle wanted to be my personal pinata, then I would oblige him. A good whacking from my “truth stick”, lets see what I could smash out of this brave/pitiful soul. And so, with the fervor of a Spanish inquisitor, I proceeded to smash, pick, poke and prod through this advisory, hoping to find something interesting.

Initial Observation

The K Capital Advisors website is terrible. It looks ugly. This is not the website of a marketer. This is not one of those Profit.ly guru type websites that are candy coated with dazzling graphics, stories of $75,000 trading days, orange Lamborgines, fancy videos, stories of students turned millionaires, and an equity curve that looks like a skate board ramp. This website has the look of a one man shop, one that probably had zero experience in the building of a website. But is a fancy website what we are really interested in? How many of us have been drawn into the purchase of a scammy trading product, simply because the website was tailor made to appeal to our dreams of profit and glory? I know I have. And Kyle Mathews website is definitely not going to conjure dreams of trading glory. But again, this is not what is really important. What we really want to know is whether this guy is real? Who is he? Does he really trade? Can we make money with this guy.

This Guy Is Different

One of the first things that I talked about with Kyle is about verifying past trades and performance. My readers and I don’t want bullshit. We dont want an iphone picture of a supposed trading account, we don’t want a carefully selected image snippet of “real trades”, don’t insult our intelligence with after the fact You Tube trading videos, no testimonials from worthless third party sites like Investimonials, and specifically don’t even attempt to show us a jacked up equity curve from Profit.ly. We want brokerage statements. Nothing less will do. To my surprise, Kyle agreed.

The next thing I received from Kyle Matthews was a google spreadsheet that supposedly lists all of his trades dating back to 2013. The spreadsheet can be viewed here.

Sometimes the little things can give up big clues. The spreadsheet that Kyle sent to me is one such thing. Notice how well organized and professionally maintained this spreadsheet is? Notice the formulas and exact record keeping? This is not the spreadsheet that was created for the marketing of a product, this is the spreadsheet that was created to record the personal trading results of a thoughtful and well organized individual. I also like how I can enter my hypothetical starting balance, and then the spreadsheet automatically calculates a range of functions that give me some sort of idea of forward performance (based on prior results).

Along with the spreadsheet, Kyle also sent me a brokerage account statement that was issued directly from Interactive Brokers. Since I have an account with Interactive Brokers, I have a thorough knowledge of what these statements look like. These are real statements. Yes, they are confusing. And my personal Interactive Broker statements are just as confusing. When you look at these, you might be a little confused, but rest assured, I have gone over these and matched the trades on the spreadsheet with the brokerage account statements. The statements are below:

K-Capital-Realized-Returns-2-Months-1

As you look over these statements, you might of noticed that these statements only cover the Interactive Brokers account from January 2015 through May 2015. I questioned Kyle on this big gap and asked for additional statements going back to 2013. Kyle went on to explain that he currently works for an investment bank and that the individual trades from the trading advisory were intermingled with his 401k benefits, and a host of other trades non related to the advisory.

Digging Deeper

After speaking with Kyle, I told him that I needed more proof. And so we compromised on a solution. He agreed to screen share with me a non recordable session behind the firewall of his company reports. On the screen sharing session, Kyle logged into the investment banks back office reporting system, and we proceeded to pluck out the trades in question. It took some time. And I will not be revealing the name of the Investment Bank, but I can confirm that the bank is “Too Big To Fail” and Kyle has made each of the trades that he claims. Although the trades were for various position sizes, and he did scale in and out depending on the risk. It made sense. And I believe him.

Deeper Still

In addition to the submission of the Interactive Brokers account statements, and a visual review of trades executed at his employer trading account, I also took the extra step of verifying that the trades from the advisory were actually sent out to paying customers. This was a little tricky, but I discovered that Kyle was using Mail Chimp to send out his advisory updates. What is Mail Chimp? This is a 3rd party software application that is maintained in the cloud. This application, Mail Chimp would leave a trail of all outgoing email sends. I asked Kyle for the log in information for Mail Chimp and was able to confirm a chain of sends that corresponded with the trading advisory service. In short, everything that he had told me, I was able to verify.

More About Kyle Matthew

One of the things about Kyle’s crummy website that I do not like is the lack of personal information about him. And so I began a series of emails where we went back and forth and I asked him a lot of questions. One email in particular, does a good job of giving us a glimpse of Kyle, the person, and why he is doing what he does…

I wanted to get you my background and take on why I started an advisory. To start, I was born and raised in the Philly area and ever since high school I’ve always had a passion for investing. It started as really just a drive to be successful as I came from a middle class family who didn’t really have much. My parents sacrificed basically everything for my siblings and I to attend great schools and growing up we knew what it was like to struggle. But as I started to learn more about investing I began hearing about, and then extensively reading upon and learning, technical analysis and the art of reading charts and understanding short term trading. At a very early age I knew that there was more than just a buy and hold mentality out there where short term trading thrived. Through college I read and studied more on the subject and my curiosity really turned into a passion. Anything about technical analysis and swing trading out there I’d read.

That passion really led me to Wall St. where I worked at a middle market securities firm on a derivatives desk while in undergrad. That’s where I really got a sense of the money to be made in the market from both the buy and sell sides. It was intense. As a 20 year old I was working with guys making six figures in minutes to days, buying planes and just living these ridiculous lifestyles. But that’s where I also learned about the dangers behind that money and the greed that people can learn to be accustomed to. Ironically, my mentor at the time and that entire desk were eventually prosecuted for several serious trading crimes well after I left my co-op. That said, it was an amazing experience to learn and grow as a college student.

From there I finished undergrad, and instead of heading back to Wall St. I worked for a Fortune 100 company, got my MBA and really learned what it was to run a business at an massive level from both the ground up and top down. With some luck, I took those roles and my MBA to an energy based private equity firm where I decided to get my CFA charter which I’m still in the process of getting. The private equity space is amazing. It’s a constant cat and mouse game that touched all sides of my quantitative and qualitative mind.

This entire time though I’ve always honed and sharpened my personal trading and passion for investing. Finally, after seeing all of the BS out there on a constant basis, I decided I could very easily open something on my own which finally led me to start K Capital. It’s funny to a degree because you see dozens of these gurus out there with zero actual backgrounds in finance. You ask them what their Shape Ratios are, or their variance and standard deviations of risk or anything remotely related to portfolio management, and it’s just silence. And these guys are actually in chat rooms day trading! That level of ignorance and shadiness was really the 2nd reason behind opening and starting K Capital. Besides my passion for it, I just found, and still find it, almost hysterical some scams and pie in the sky pitches some services sell.

Either way, I love where I’m at right now and can’t wait to continue to grow personally and professionally. Most importantly, to grow in the RIGHT way. Like we talked about, I show everything on the site and always will. There’s no sense in hiding trades or your background. It either makes you a better trader or you fade away out of the game.

I appreciate your time with all of this and can’t wait to see both of our sites grow!

Kyle Matthew

A Clearer Picture

If you have made it this far, and are not completely lost by my nearly incoherent writing, then you are possibly beginning to realize that I might have found a gem. The more I read on this guy, watch his videos, and process THE WHY of his trades, the more I begin to realize that K Capital Advisors is not just a chart reading service. This guy actually digs through publicly filed (and massively confusing) financial statements of these public companies and tries to figure out what these companies are really up to. So, he is a hybrid, using technical and fundamental to form his hypothesis. He  attempts to understand how these companies actually run their businesses, and he is able to process and make sense of things like cash flow, debt instruments, why companies will do things that most people are clueless about. He understands that the charts are just a representation of everything that is happening at a fundamental level. He forms an underlying theory based upon fundamental research, and then he executes based upon chart patterns. Its interesting, it is different, but most importantly…what he is doing is actually making money.

The Years Ahead

In my opinion, in the years ahead we cannot just blindly buy and hold stocks, and then wait for the federal reserve to lift the entire market higher. We need to use not only technical information, but we also need to form logical conclusions on why businesses will rise or fall. This is what makes Kyle so interesting, he has the classical MBA background, works for an investment bank, and has real world experience in private equity. All of this working together forms a pretty potent combination. I have little doubt that this guy is going to be a wealthy guy. He has the passion, the smarts, a interest in the fundamentals, and a track record.

How Best To Trade The Service

K Capital Advisors is a swing trading service. The average trade length is 8 days and we do not need to be chained to a trading screen. With this in mind, we do not need to worry about the day trading rule. In other words, we can be selective with our brokerage. However, since the trading is a bit more active, then simply laying down for the usual $5-$10 trades at Schwab would be wasting our money on commissions. The best way to trade this service would be through an account at Interactive Brokers. The minimum trade is $1 per side, and most of Kyles trades should be about $2 per side of each trade, depending on the amount of shares.

I plan on trading Kyle’s advisory for the next 12 consecutive months. And I will be updating this page in the interest of performance posterity. How do I plan on trading the service? I am going to set aside $10k of my Interactive Brokers account and purchase $2,500 worth of shares per trade. If you look at Kyle’s track record, you will see streaks of losing trades. For instance, during January-February 2014…Kyle could do nothing correct. But folks, this is what real trading looks like! I cannot stress this enough to beginning traders, if you want to be successful at this game, then you need to accept periods of rough performance. Conversely, since the beginning of 2015, Kyle has been on fire with excellent performance. Can he continue? This remains to be seen. Please revisit this page often for real time performance summaries.

Wrapping Things Up

I have now done quite a few of these trading reviews. It is becoming easier and easier to spot the bullshit performers from the true trading athletes. The bullshit artists love to market these perfect equity curves that are pure nonsense. The real traders that enter the slaughterhouse daily? The equity curves are bumpy, jagged, sometimes messy, but always seem to hit new highs. These bumpy and jagged equity curves are where the truth is waiting. This is what real trading looks like. Its hard to find honest trading vendors, especially those that put their own money on the line, trade with their customers, and eat only what they kill. Kyle Matthews has shown me nothing but integrity, honesty, openness, grit, and most importantly….a unique perspective.

Thanks for reading. Don’t forget to leave comments below. Even the haters will find that their voice is important.

Leave a Reply

55 Comments on "K Capital Advisors"

avatar
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
Other File Types
 
 
 

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Craig
Guest
Craig
1 year 23 days ago

Thanks for the taking the time and effort to provide this service of unbiased reviews. I too was captured by the flashy websites and the promises of small fortunes everyday. I was almost ready to start a service with Jason Bond but doing some due diligence and investigation I chose not to. Thanks again for honest reviews and I am taking the leap with Kyle’s service. I have educated myself on technical analysis but still need a little guidance.

Tai
Guest
Tai
1 year 2 months ago

After reading your review, I decided to take the plunge and join his service. $50/month is a real bargain. So far, his picks have been very profitable, especially ANTH. He doesn’t have many picks so they are easy to manage and lay them out on charts and usually have videos to explain what he’s doing or planning to do. You really don’t need his email/sms alerts to know when to get in or out.

kyle
Guest
1 year 1 month ago
D.A., Thanks for the feedback. To address your three specific points in your comments, I’d like to start by saying that it’s assumed a trader should be available during the day in some capacity to enter and exit a position whether they swing trade or not. That’s the sole reason we send texts and emails and I’ve yet to hear a complaint about timing or execution problems from our members. If one isn’t available to trade and we enter a trade then that’s obvious they wouldn’t get the best execution or the same price as we did. There isn’t much… Read more »
kyle
Guest
9 months 29 days ago
Hi everyone, This is Kyle, the Founder. Your last couple comments are correct. The portfolio model needs to be adjusted for your starting capital. Whatever adjustment was made by the prior user of the model will save and show when the file is reopened. Just adjust that input in cell C7 and the model will reflect your results. I’d recommend everyone focus on the percentage returns to judge and see our results versus other competitors and services. Emmett has our recent results and is updating his review I believe. If you have any other questions just email us at kylematthew@kcapitaladvisors.com,… Read more »
joe
Guest
joe
1 year 3 months ago

hi, where can i find the average and overall actual month by month returns as well as yearly? The website isn’t so clear.

Kyle
Guest
1 year 3 months ago

Hi Joe,

Thanks for the feedback and question.

This is Kyle, the founder of K Capital. I came back and saw your question so I figured I’d respond directly. The performance page and google document have each trade through our history with the overall return, but do not have the month by month or yearly. I can certainly add that to the site as it’s a great idea.

Here’s the link for the Performance page that Emmett audited. http://www.kcapitaladvisors.com/stock_alerts_performance/

Best,
Kyle

abhishsk
Guest
abhishsk
7 months 9 days ago

Steve Primo’s Forex Strategy Performance Results For 2013 to 2015

trackback

[…] the full review Here and start to trade with one of the few, if not only, service that had it’s entire history […]

Jeremy
Guest
Jeremy
1 year 3 months ago
Great review. In my experience with some other service by the time subscribers get the alerts the stock has moved so much that most of the gains are already gone. In fact, I have seen it where I get a text to buy and then 5 minutes later one to sell – almost as if the service provider was profiting off of their subscribers! Even though it is a swing service there seems to be limited gains given the liquidity of the stocks suggested. Just wondering what the experience is like on Kyle’s service – does he experience runups once… Read more »
trackback

[…] This is one of many examples of long swing alerts we’ve issued here at K Capital and the reason TradingSchools.org audited and reviewed our service and found that we were one of few ser… […]

Kyle
Guest
1 year 2 months ago

Thanks Tai! I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying the service and making money with us! Happy to have you on board.

Kyle

Tai
Guest
Tai
1 year 2 months ago

Kyle, I’m just glad to find someone that trade in a way that is similar to my own. I look forward to learning more from you.

Shit Weasel
Guest
Shit Weasel
1 year 2 months ago

Thanks for the review and the spreadsheet. I am going to give this a shot, since swing trading is more my style and I have traded some of those picks.

As far as the website aesthetics, who cares?

If you want a snazzy marketing site without a ton of effort or expense, install wordpress, buy optimizepress 2.0 (many marketers use it) and bingo, your done. Drag and drop everything, pretty self-explanatory, and when use see the theme you will instantly recognize how widely used it is.

Andy P
Guest
1 year 2 months ago

I’ve been one of Kyle’s happy clients since March 2015, and have enjoyed his profitable picks since then. Easy to enter and exit as prices on his alerts as the stocks don’t move like crazy after his alerts.

Only downside is his SD pick. A very long-term pick, which I think he shouldn’t have included as it’s not a short-term swing trade. Though I appreciate the trade idea and do have it in my account.

John
Guest
John
1 year 1 month ago

I don’t know how you guys do the numbers but I looked at there performance the way I did it doesn’t make sense to me by today 07/04/2015 out of his last 80 trades from number 200-279 only 35 are winning this is about 40% only.

Kyle
Guest
1 year 1 month ago

John,

The math is right and that’s the reason capital allocation, which we teach, is so important. You can have successful and profitable trading at 40% win rate because your winners are so much larger than your losers which we cut.

Kyle – CEO & Founder

D.A.
Guest
D.A.
1 year 1 month ago
Very LOW cost that seems reasonable, but unless you are available at any moment during the day you may not get the best entry. The biggest issue is the NON COMPLIANCE with stops. Meaning he does not honor stops. The latest example was CDE, which was recently closed for over a 20% loss after not listening to their suggested stop. ” Long CDE at $6.10 on the pull back. Mental stop of $5.75 / $7 target to start.” He closed out the position at around $4.50 AFTER adding to the losing position. They say, “mental stop of X” but when… Read more »
Christian
Guest
Christian
1 year 1 month ago

I have a question: You swing trade but Stop Lose is still mental ? So in fact have to watch all the day the open trades ?

kyle
Guest
1 year 1 month ago

Christian,

A member can most certainly enter the stop loss order we supply, but we just don’t recommend that since so many small and mid cap stocks can be manipulated to that price and then the price rebounds. Furthermore, with our alerts, we’re watching the market for you. That’s one of the many reasons you’re paying us. So when we close at the given stop loss you’ll know immediately. So no, a member does not have to be watching the market all day.

Hopefully that helps.

Kyle

SMTM
Guest
SMTM
1 year 26 days ago
I’ll move to over to this service: http://dailyetfalerts.com/performance.html because they enter ALL orders at the OPEN of the market (market on open) so that ensures one can actually exactly MATCH the posted results. With Kcapital it’s when Kyle enters or exits then he sends and email with what he has done. There are no actual TARGETS or STOPS he just watches them…so unless you are able to place a trade at any time of the day you will have a hard time to match it. With the service I am trying now…..all TARGETS and STOPS are HARD and SET .… Read more »
garrym
Guest
1 year 16 days ago

have been with kyles service for about 2 weeks,so far so good
have the basic membership(no email or text alerts)
need to keep looking at the website,but not a problem
Will upgrade to the platinum level
Kyle responds to emails promptly
enjoy the service

kyle
Guest
1 year 14 days ago

Thanks garrym! We’re glad you’re enjoying the service and making some money with us! There will be a lot of changes coming in the next few weeks! Stay tuned.

Kyle

JS
Guest
JS
1 year 11 hours ago

I am new to trading. But how does one evaluate or choose a service with 2-3 years of history? How would its strategy perform during big drawdowns or during a recession? Thanks.

kyle
Guest
11 months 30 days ago

JS,

We trade both long and short and have been through this downturn and now recovery. Through our history, which is posted in full, we’ve gone short several times and most definitely over the course of the last 3 weeks. We have specific techniques and patterns we look for in any market that help us capture the downside in bearish markets.

I can offer more specifics if you’d like. Just email me at kcapitaladvisors@gmail.com

Thanks,
Kyle

Craig
Guest
Craig
10 months 1 day ago

Emmett,

Any update on the first 5 months of trading per K Capital recommendations?

Thanks for the reviews!

Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
10 months 17 hours ago

I am just little confused when I check the spread sheet for total profit so far since the start Nov 13/2013 and till october 19 total profit is only $849, Am I missing something? or am i reading it wrong. Sorry if I am wrong.

Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
10 months 15 hours ago

Moderator why not post my earlier message i posted?

Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
10 months 15 hours ago

Yes i am confuse like only $849 profit in 2 years of trading?

Rob B
Member
Rob B
10 months 9 hours ago
Arsalan, I just took a quick look. If I followed his spreadsheet correct he is only risking $200 per trade. If that is correct that is quite a large return on investment. In fact I notice he you could actual adjust the initial investment. So if I followed his spreadsheet correctly he basically had a 100% return on your money over that time period. If you adjust your initial investment to $100,000 it showed a profit of $104,000. Assuming I followed his spreadsheet correctly and it is accurate, that seems like pretty good returns to me compared to the S&P… Read more »
Rob B
Member
Rob B
10 months 2 hours ago
Arsalan, I just took a quick look. If I followed his spreadsheet correct he is only risking $200 per trade. If that is correct that is quite a large return on investment. In fact I notice he you could actual adjust the initial investment. So if I followed his spreadsheet correctly he basically had a 100% return on your money over that time period. If you adjust your initial investment to $100,000 it showed a profit of $104,000. Assuming I followed his spreadsheet correctly and it is accurate, that seems like pretty good returns to me compared to the S&P… Read more »
Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
9 months 30 days ago

Thanks Rob, I just checked the spread sheet is updated from $200 per trade to $20,000 per trade. This makes more sense. I am looking forward to see the results of Emmett on Kyle strategy. Hope he can post it soon. Thanks.

Alex
Guest
Alex
9 months 22 days ago

was there ever any update on the review to this service? the comments made it seem like something was coming.

Craig
Guest
Craig
9 months 19 days ago

I am looking forward to the update as well.

Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
9 months 19 days ago

Waiting for a while now and still no update. Little sad to see no update so far.

Ellen B
Guest
9 months 17 days ago

Although I just did the free trial the service was good and as advertised. The website could use some improvement but the few trades I followed did make money. I am not feeling like swing trading in this choppy market so may return to this service someday when I feel more comfortable holding positions overnight or when my account is bigger and I can free some space to just set aside for these kind of trades. If you prefer swing trading to day trading this is a good service.

kyle
Guest
9 months 16 days ago

Thanks Ellen! We’re really glad you enjoyed the service, and most importantly, made money using our service. We’re obviously sad to see you go, but will be happy to honor any sale price you had with us when/if you decide to come back when you’re ready.

All the best.

Kyle

Arsalan
Guest
Arsalan
9 months 17 days ago

My question is where is Emmett result that we are waiting on. Can you please let us know. thanks

casey
Guest
casey
9 months 15 days ago

I LOVE this service! The market has been crappy, but I’ve learned more in the last few months from Kyle’s videos and alerts than any other service I’ve used. He’s had some great calls and I’ve made serious money. The CRWN call recently was spot on.

I definitely recommend this service if you’re swing trading!

Steve
Guest
Steve
9 months 3 days ago

Does anyone know when or even if this review update is coming out? The last comment said end of October or beginning of November.

Dave
Guest
Dave
5 months 22 days ago

I am also waiting for this.

abhishsk
Guest
abhishsk
7 months 9 days ago

Steve Primo’s Forex Strategy Performance Results For 2013 to 2015

William Morin
Guest
6 months 8 days ago

I have been using the service for two months by my readers request. I have had pretty good success with the stock alerts. Read my review here: http://www.stocksforexfutures.com/k-capital-advisors-review-swing-trade-best-stock-alert-service/

Dave
Guest
Dave
5 months 22 days ago

I have several questions:
1. Do k-capital-advisors has free trial? The website says try it risk free, however, there are no details. It goes to payment screen.
2. If I don’t like the service, is there a way to cancel it? I could not find it on the web site. 3. What is contact phone?
4. I get promotion emails of some percent off. Can this be applied to the monthly membership also or just for 1st month.

Thank you,
dave

kyle
Guest
2 months 25 days ago

Hi Dave,

Yes, we offer a free trial. Use coupon code FREETRIAL at checkout. Yes, you cancel at anytime via an email to us. No charge will occur.

Email me direcly for the contact phone.

You can use promo code MONEY for a 25% off sale price on any package as well!

Trade green.
Kyle

Kean
Guest
Kean
5 months 7 days ago

Emmett,

“this is been sort of, repeatedly moved down the list of priorities. I promise to have an updated report by Monday. I believe that Kyle is down 5% since the review but I need to double check that.”

Promise?… and no updates since last November?…

kyle
Guest
5 months 3 days ago
HI Kean and Dave, This is Kyle, the Founder of K Capital. I can answer a few of your questions. Yes, we offer trials and discounts off of the entire membership prices, not just month 1. Please email kylematthew@kcapitaladvisors.com to get more details. I can send you the promotional codes for the trials and discounts. Yes, you can cancel at any time just via email. Once that email is received the membership is cancelled right away. We are also patiently waiting for a re-review from Emmett and team, but I know he is a busy man. If you have any… Read more »
jia
Guest
jia
4 months 13 days ago

I looked at their website, seems the price is 75 per month now, not 50 anymore for their basic gold member. They have Platinum and Guru option and not sure it worth the price to join those,

kyle
Guest
2 months 25 days ago

Jia – we’re offering a 25% sale price right now using coupon code MONEY. If you have any questions please let me know at kcapitaladvisors@gmail.com.

Trade green!

Kyle

wpDiscuz